December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fucking Run

by BarrensZeppelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(25/12) - Uploaded Post Jam version which fixes the buggyness of the movement and controls. This version also includes the necessary DLLs to run the game.
(05/01) - Updated the Post Jam version. Lot's of polish, functioning arrow and camera control.

//// WARNING ////
*Broken* *Unfinished* *Buggy* *Horrid*

Also requires Visual C++ 2013 Runtime (MSVCR120.dll)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784


Run around and fire particles in this prototype I made over the weekend. It's a very disappointed me submitting the game, but finishing it within the time frame just hasn't been possible for me.

The general idea of the game - which I will probably continue working with for a while after the compo - is that you run from some sort of impending doom that's coming for you, and if you don't run quick enough - you will die. As your only companion you have a single arrow at your disposal, which can be picked up after shooting it at something or anything.



Controls:
- Game:
Move - A & D
Jump - Space

Shoot particles:
Hold mouse to draw bow.
Release to fire.


- Level Editor:
1 2 3 4 5 6
Q W E R T Y U I O P F G H

Save - S
Move view - Arrows
Toggle Decoration - LShift
Toggle Overwrite - LCtrl

Left mouse to place tiles.
Right mouse to delete tiles.


Twitter: @BarrensZeppelin
GitHub: https://github.com/BarrensZeppelin
Here you'll be able to find my library which I use to provide SFML with tileset, particle and animation support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#804Mood2.29
#898Graphics2.05
#920Fun2.10
#947Theme1.89
#971Innovation1.89
#989Overall2.00

Comments

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

Too bad you ran out of time. Better luck next time.

And yes, I needed to install Visual C++ 2013 Runtime (x86).

Screen shaking was nice though.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

I really wished it was a more complete game because it really felt as if there was impending doom.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Yeah, I needed to install the C++ Runtime...
I didn't really understand the game... the level editor broke, I couldn't play it without that, because you will get an empty level. You can pretty much say this entry is unfinished and broken. :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

@joppiesaus You broke the level editor? o:
Even I haven't managed to do that. :/

save.txt contains the level, if it corrupts you probably won't be able to play. Just delete it and load up the level editor again.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Yeah I'm missing a .dll too.

Tough luck for not finishing.

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Doesn't run on Windows 7 64 bit. Error says, "Can't start because MSVCR120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem".

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

@tommakesgames That's the Visual C++ 2013 Runtime ;)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03pm

MSVCR120.dll missing. To bad, I was really looking forward to the level editor

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:59am

Hey cool engine, you should continue it, it's a great start !

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I don't want to install DLLs to run a game; Why did you include a level editor without having a more finished game? From what I saw it looks cool!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:06am

Yet again, an awesome title!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:16pm

MSVCR120.dll is missing :(

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:31pm

i dint like the fact that you named it that :(

Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:05pm

@olafsworld98 No you're right, it's a really bad title. But I was so frustrated with myself and the game that I didn't really care about its name, next LD you can expect something better. ;)

sam1373 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Why would you not just include all of the needed dll's in the zip file?

Nelien says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:13pm

It looks like a really good start; I guess it took quite a bit to write the things that people get for free if they use Unity or the like; next time you should be able to do those to do a finished game :)

Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:43pm

@sam1373 Recently moved from VS2008 -> VS2013, not used to people not having the required binaries. My error.

@Nelien Hehe, I love programming stuff from the ground up compared to using something like Unity or a premade engine, and it's not like I usually have trouble finishing games within the 48h time frame. There just happened to be a Christmas lunch this LD weekend which sucked up my second day of the jam, so that made it quite hard to finish something other than a quick prototype. ;D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]