December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ONE COLOR

by howieV (binarygirl) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

JAVA APPLET

simples :

arrows / wasd

-just hover off the blue objects until they disappear
-avoid the orange/red object
-u can recharge in the middle (green)
-you are safe on the outsides (depending on which way the orange object is coming)

notes:

i kind of went off on a tangent and lost the theme really (my idea wasn't that good to begin with heh)

but i came up with something, so here it is :)

i decided to leave the gfx clean'ish. i probably spent abit too much time on the music and sfx
but i was trying to make up for lack of theme and a rubbish game ;p

i dont think il use java next time..starting to do my head in with all the security things
(sorry if you get a security msg, i don't know how to get around it)

thanks guys.. had fun cheers :)

HowieV

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#53Audio3.60
#283Fun3.20
#348Overall3.19
#411Innovation3.03
#523Mood2.71
#607Graphics2.72
#764Humor1.53
#820Theme2.27

Comments

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Awesome! Really fun little game :)

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I don't think it's necessary to put up four identical links, as web-based stuff should be compatible to all. Also, backward leveling as a punishment is quite frustrating (like Naya's Quest).

On the other hand, had a lot of fun with it! Love how sound and sfx were synchronized, and the way you pulled off diegetic UI in this kind of games XD

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Good game but the music keeps on playing even when I close the game :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07pm

cheers guys.. @juno i hear ya about the backward levelling but i was thinking it might be too easy..then again i suppose you're more likely to give up out of frustration going back a level (damn hindsight ;p) @cthulho really ?! even when you close the tab ?! soz about that murhaha ;p

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Hmmm, it doesn't seem to run on my computer, actually it completely crashed my chrome :3 haha. Maybe the jar would work? Not sure what's wrong. My java is up to date.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32pm

nice game concept and fun to play :) (did load a little bit long to load ^^)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very interesting. I've never played a game like this before. I'm very curious how this game would of turned out with a different theme.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Nice, feels good, nice pacing and challenge level. I like the (almost) endless nature of the backward leveling

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

I really liked the audio.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Good game, nicely made. I like the fact that you go back one level when you die.

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12pm

It's nice, but yeah, you completely ignored the theme (can't blame you though) - it would be great entry theme-wise for one of the previous LD - Minimalism.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I kinda like the concept of a "level down" upon death.
Congrats on creating your own music and sfx, I know how time consuming it can be =)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Great game! It was challenging, fun, and had well done audio. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Fun game, It's difficult, I like that challenge. Nice job !

joe40001 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:48am

Decent little game. I'd say the best part was how I needed 0 instruction and I could figure out the exact rules/gameplay of the game myself. A good game designer can teach the player to play in-game, rather than through text. Not much else to say, simple clean decent game.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:41am

Very good game, could use some refining, but overall, the idea is great! really liked it!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Well done, challenging and yet sort of relaxing. :)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:57am

thanks guys.. ya its nice to just start to play something where you need zero instruction .. hopefully that isn't just because its uber simple and boring.. simple can be fun.. and relaxing ;p

jonask says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Simple and fun

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Very very fun! It's not boring at all, howieV!

sekaru says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:58am

That was surprisingly enjoyable. And yeah it the music and sfx were brilliant too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]