December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Time Detective

by mruno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is 17th July 2000. Last night, a person found a dead body in his bin. The police were completely gobwaffled about how this happened, so they called you. John Mageeker. AKA: The Time Detective! Use your curiosity coin to help you solve the crime: but remember, you only get one!
Will YOU be able to solve the murder?

Text based game on the console - With a reaction-based boss fight!


LINUX/MAC: Run java -jar timedetective.jar
If the .exe doesn't work for your version of windows, try the Java

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#114Fun3.52
#115Humor3.36
#242Innovation3.29
#270Mood3.12
#319Overall3.23
#498Theme2.86

Comments

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I wasn't able to try it, due to the .exe saying it's not for my version of Windows, and the zip saying its corrupt. It looks interesting though.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

What version of windows do you have?

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Not working for me either :( Windows 8.1

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Fun little text game. I messed up and got caught.

alexc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01pm

It was funny and entertaining, but it was also pretty short. I played it twice and beat the game on my second try. The exe ran just fine for me on Windows 8 64 bit. The fight at the end was really well done for a text-adventure game.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I just destroyed a time destroyer with a TARDIS. Awesome.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Glad you people like it :) I'll try and sort out why it isn't working for some people

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20pm

ı really like text based games. And that one is creative :)

tomc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Interesting, a kind of acting game? You're told how to react to certain kinds of events and are then tested on your ability to remember those rules.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

What a strange game, but I like it! A few typos but interesting gameplay and a funny story.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Cool game and an interesting text adventure variant.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

When I try to run the exe, it just gives me an error saying it can't be found.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Weird... I'll try and fix that

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Avast! is detecting this as Malware and refusing to run it, sorry man!

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Hooray for text adventures!

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Sorry to be negative but choices seem very binary. ASP-like dialog systems were created for AAA in order to distill conversations and make them faster. So I was pleasantly surprised to see them in a text game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Really enjoyed this game! Not normally a fan of text adventures but this one was simple enough not to confuse me xD. Story was interesting all the way through, the interaction was good as well. Overall a really good game I thought!

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Thank you very much :D

viinnyk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35pm

very nice!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Cool game. I wonder if it could have been done in something like Twine to make it more accessible and add some typography?

Ongaku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I loved this, me a command line and a dark background :D

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I enjoyed the game even though it had no Graphics or Audio. It's a good storyline.

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Fun little game. Started out really serious, then got all kind of weird but in an entertaining way.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Ah, that was nice, although it could have been a bit longer. I beat it at the second try (died in the boss fight on the first).

What was the bandage for?

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:46pm

(spoilers)
if you didn't pick the potato up then you would need the bandage to survive having your arm cut off :D

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:12am

Nice text adventure. Ripped the picture of my son and got owned :-)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Fun story, the typos and the weird choice of keys actually add to the mood. I kept expecting to come to a yes-no question and dumbly blindly type n.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Interesting idea, but it feels like it should be less linear. Also, typos and misspellings seem pretty bad when there's only text.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:59am

5/5 graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]