December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Bullet

by baton4ik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Levels are full of swift and armed enemies, and it's your job to kill them all! You have your trusty knife and pistol but... you only have one bullet. It's not just any bullet though, it's an enemies-penetrating, walls-ricocheting bullet. Are you prepared for stealth takedowns and lining up that perfect shot to kill them all? I sure hope so.


Your goal is to kill all the enemies on each level. But you only have one life, one knife, one pistol and one bullet while each enemy has an assault rifle with loads of lethal ammo.
Your bullet isn't just a bullet though.
Your bullet is fast, can kill any number of enemies without losing it's momentum and ricochets off solid surfaces twice.

You can use your knife to sneak up on and silently kill unsuspecting enemies.
Beware that enemies who have found a body or heard a bullet hitting something will use their radios to alert the others.
And keep in mind that you die in one hit. So do your enemies though and it doesn't matter which bullet hit 'em.
And lastly. The game is hard. Be very careful with your movements and try to utilize your only bullet, bullet time and zoom out while aiming to the max.

-------------
Controls:

WASD/arrow keys to move.
SPACE to perform a knife takedown (must be very close to an enemy)
Right Mouse Button to aim (shows you the bullet's future trajectory considering ricochets, triggers bullet times and lets you see more stuff)
Left Mouse Button to shoot
R key to restart the level

P.S. Sorry, the game only has 4 levels because I can't into level design (and drawing, obviously).
Also I didn't have the opportunity to test the game on Linux or Mac so I can't guarantee that it's gonna work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#299Theme3.23
#411Innovation3.03
#528Overall2.97
#677Fun2.60
#843Graphics2.17
#858Mood2.14

Comments

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I like it, more levels would be nice :)

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33pm

With the bullet only bouncing twice, it makes it so you have to use your knife for most of the killing, which takes away from the interesting idea of having a bullet bouncing around the level. Still a pretty fun game though.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

It's tough. I like how the enemies get agitated when they see their fallen comrades.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Really cool concept! Maybe instead of having a lot of enemies you should have created a level with only one enemy (well hidden, protected etc.) to take down with only one bullet.
Still, great work!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Overall a nice, well-thought game!

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Liked the concept, but the first level feels a bit too hard for a first level xD the enemies are so fast and you have to kill almost everyone with a knife.
Would have been nice to add some graphical feedback to make you feel the stealth.

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

That is hard!

hypothetical says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice job, I like the single bullet idea!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28am

Very hard, but I liked it.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice AI, would have liked some sounds. Okay graphics. I wasn't able to beat it. I really liked the ability to see where you were going to shoot by holding right mouse button! Awesome feature! Keep it up!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:50am

With such short patrols it is hard to sneak up on people, and the two bounce weapon is really only a desperation weapon. Neat idea, however.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40pm

very hard but fun to play.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:40am

You only have one bullet, but they get a million! I found it very difficult to last more than a few seconds. They spray like crazy when they see you. With a ramp-up for difficulty and a different interpretation of One Bullet (maybe one at a time?) you might have something. I like the bouncing bullet, and maybe there is some kind of puzzle element you could add with regards to that.

baton4ik says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for your comments!
LoneStranger, the difficulty is intended, but you're right about the ramp-up.

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Too hard if you try too fast, too easy if you're slow and Commandos-style.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:03am

Heh, I kinda had a similar interpretation of the theme. The mechanics seem well implemented, but the first level is hard :/ Couldn't get through it.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Wow, really hardcore :) but i liked it!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Hard but interesting game. I really like how you can ricochet your own bullet and how you have a knife to fall back down when you can't shoot.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:11am

interesting idea, i would say have a look at other stealth games and see what you can take out from them. Most stealth games function on frantic level designs with plenty of places to hide. I do like you get taken down in one shot though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]