December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Me and My Box

by Kaslai - Jam Entry

Well, I'll just get this out there. I only had 15 or so hours to work on this, most of which was consumed by being an idiot. Well, next time I'll manage to get something out in the LD48 competition.

Controls: Arrow keys

Goal: Get the box to the end. Don't let it drop.

There's no programmed win or lose condition unfortunately. Oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Graphics(Jam)3.46
#355Mood(Jam)2.67
#380Theme(Jam)2.42
#462Fun(Jam)2.30
#464Innovation(Jam)2.27
#487Overall(Jam)2.42
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

drnick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:55am

Interesting effect with the outlines!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Sweet visuals. Gameplay is short, but it's obvious you intended more, which is fine. Animations are also quite well done, so kudos there.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

short and sweet

I very much like the graphics. That's a keeper!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Really nice graphics and animations :D.
I particurally like the camera movement :D

ocathalain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:44am

I really love the graphical style in this!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:52pm

You've broken the rules, the game doesn't fit the theme at all. Nice visuals though

Kaslai says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:56pm

@crockid5, you only have one box. How is that breaking the rules?

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:14pm

The graphics are really great on this.
I'm sorry, you didn't have more time to work on this, since it lokks great and is fun at this point, but some more content would be nice.
Keep on the good work! :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Cool game, I really like the jump animation!

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I really like the animations and the graphical style. Nicely done!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Cute graphics, good game too.

Mutt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:54am

Pretty cool for not being finished, though I don't know how you would have made the gameplay that interesting. Mostly I just really liked the art. It's just really cool when someone comes up with something so dead simple that also happens to be immediately appealing. Wouldn't mind seeing this art style again.

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:54pm

fun but I fell through the floor in the far right corner and the game got stuck.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:19am

Nice to see a sdl game, a bit short but lots of good polish. Like that the edges disappear when platforms move over each other.

drentsoft says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:09am

I liked the outline effects.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]