December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Minigolf Exam

by Dr. Mo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minigolf Exam! You only get one chance pass your Minigolf Exam and prove your skills. Don't mess it up or your minigolf pride will be ruined forever! You can't take it again!

The is the first game I've written in HTML5, and it's played entirely with the mouse. Click to shoot the ball. Get the ball in the hole in as few strokes as possible. There are 8 holes, but you only get scored on your first attempt.

The game requires a browser with HTML5 Canvas support. The newest versions of Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Google Chrome all run it nicely with only slight differences between browsers. The game is even playable in the Android browser, but aiming is more difficult. I think I have all the game-breaking bugs out of there now. If the game still fails to load, please try pressing F5 to refresh the page. If it still fails, please let me know.

As always, you can view my comments on this at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/dr.mo/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Fun3.17
#628Audio2.21
#633Overall2.83
#665Graphics2.59
#903Theme2.05
#970Innovation1.91
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I always love a little game of mini golf. I enjoyed this one. Didn't get the idea of the theme though. One hole per level? Sorry if I'm stupid :)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:33am

Fun game, really reminds me of all the old minigolf games I played on my old 486. Really hope you develop this further.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23am

Well, it's minigolf! A little weak on theme I think, but the gameplay is executed well.

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:33am

Alright... that had nothing to do with the theme, but it was a really solid minigolf game. Nice work :)

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Doesn't run fluidly in firefox on my Samsung Ultrabook with its amazing Intel HD 4000 GPU:) But nice game, although the sound is a bit, uhh... monotone.

ekun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:51am

This brings back fond memories of playing Java applet minigolf games back in the day. Fun times!

Props for using pure HTML5 and Javascript. Very cool.

Managore says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:18pm

It's a fun game! This is the happiest I've ever been to get a score of 0 on a test.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:44pm

This was quite fiendish and I enjoyed beating it! The puzzles were nicely thought out with a good difficulty curve. Perhaps my PC is a bit anceient but it seemed to run around 15fps which was actually quite uncomfortable to watch after a while. If it was smoother this would be a total win, good work!

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:09pm

This was fun! Now I want to make a mini-golf game! Nice and simple implementation here :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]