December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Goblyrinth

by Mlle Eole - Jam Entry

It's a mini labyrinth exploration game, where you only get one matchstick.

You play as a team of goblins lost here and the shaman has a brilliant idea : send one goblin at a time. Using his astral vision, the shaman will follow his scout's progression. You play the scout. Alone. In the dark.

If you use the matchstick, only once and for a limited time, your path will be traced by the shaman on the map.

If you die, the next goblin will know the map and will have his own matchstick in order to pursue the escape. You will have to find the exit before running out of goblins. =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Humor(Jam)3.31
#195Innovation(Jam)3.07
#199Theme(Jam)3.00
#235Mood(Jam)2.96
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#248Fun(Jam)2.93
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

feizenbara says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22am

Cool and full of humor, but I wish there were sounds or better graphics :-)
First impression is very rough too : it took me a while to realize what to do with this black screen (because of course I don't read texts...)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

I really like how the interface is integrated to the page.
Player can choose its difficulty by playing with/without the matches.

But how those goblins ended up in this labyrinth in the first place?

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Holà, thanks for your feedbacks ! :)

Yes some other players had the same issue so .. it's too late for this one but i made a second Non-LD version with a few popup in the game, when you play too long on the dark, and also to explain the "splorch!" button. :)

I had to keep the graphics simple, i'm still a noob and i just had the time to made the whole thing - and without a nice labyrinth, so that's for the next version too.

I've edited the links below, the web's link, and added the next version guide with a big "(NonLD!)" in the title. :)

And for the background, i dunno why this stupid party ended here. I think it's the kind of stuff Goblins do, steal things in dungeons, so these ones have surely been trapped. ^^

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Didn't understand at the beginning, but when I did, it was really funny.

yosh says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28am

Really cool concept! It unfortunately took me a while to understand what was going on at first, but that was because I shamelessly skipped the instructions screen.
A way to improve that would be to provide some kind of interactive tutorial guiding the player as well as bringing the player to the fun atmosphere of the game.
Something else that would be cool is maybe some sounds and music, but it might hard to get something not too loopy.

Toutes mes félicitations ;)

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

A fun and interesting experience. I really enjoyed the dialogue!

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Thanks a lot ! :)

Yosh, yes you're right, i've done it in the V2 (the third "Web V2" link) but it's a little bit late for LD players. ^^

Bougou says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11pm

A good gameplay but the game is short.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Cool game :) at first i was thinking that match will only light one tile so i did it completely on the dark. when i understanded how work matches the game became really easy. Was hoping for more levels :)

larb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Really good entry. It took a bit of time to understand, but it's a fun maze game. Really enjoyed it.

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22am

I played the web and web v2 version, v2 is cooler because more challenging. Sounds and music could improve so much the game.

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:30am

The graphics are awesome and the game is fun... However, sometime, every exit where blocked by trap. I had to restart a new game.

supremefist says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:50am

Good game! Had fun with that one!

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Great game, great Idea, I love it. My only problem is about the controll, change the system to release the key (not pressing it) in that way it will be easier to controll a couple of time I lost my goblin because I was pressing to much and the goblin was moving to fast.

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for the feedbacks, it's nice ! :)

Bougou & Dray: yup, i didn't found the time to make even a sole good labyrinth for the LD.. I worked on that for the V2 and there will be more levels and challenges, but that's for january. ^^

Eskivor : i sucks at sounds and music, i don't have the habit of playing with it on the web so i didn't learned how to make it. But i recently talked with friends about that and you're right, i should pay more attention. :)

Grifdail : yes, it's a problem i more or less fixed in the post-LD version, you can sacrifice a goblin on the trap to free the path. :p I found it a little bit evil, but fun.

MyGrandmother : that's a good advice, i will try this for the next version. Thanks !


Larb & Supremefist and all of you : really glad to read that! :) Thanks again!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Concept is great! Much humor :D Cool and pretty! :) But a little difficult :D

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I was frustrated with the controls, but you seem like a mad genius so... don't change it just because it's something I'm not used to.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really nice simple game here, shame there's no audio though.

nSun says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:39am

Si les gobelins avaient le sang phosphorescent, il n'y aurait qu'a les envoyer contre les murs pour redessiner les contours du labyrinthe ! (les economies de bouts d'allumettes ca compte aussi)

Mlle Eole says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Van Noctar, BluMist & BradleySmith : Thanks a lot ! :)

Yep i will work on the difficulty & perhaps sound for the next version of the game. For the controls, i've done as MyGrandmother said and i think it's better. :?

nSun : Hahaha, j'adore l'idée ! :D

Mlle Eole says ...
Mar 6, 2014 @ 9:52am

I’ve just finished my little LD28 entry post compo ! \o/
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/03/06/ld28-post-compo-goblyrinth-v2/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]