December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Immortality

by Kane - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everybody !

Here is my entry for this Ludum Dare, done with C and ncurses library as a no-monster, no-permadeath (worst than that !) Roguelike, but with a little something special that I hope you will like.

What can I say more... the game is difficult, but well balanced. Also those who want try to hit the max score, it is at 3140! Good luck for reaching it!


Have fun!

___

Content of the zip files:
- full game in binary or source format
- Game Manual (Manual.txt, can be helpful)
- Game dev log (README)

___

Note that you do not have a quick restart button on the game if you do not finish it, that was done deliberately!

___


Revision History:
=================

bugfix #1:
after self-testing
- fixed some damages issues
- make the end screen more clear

bugfix #2:
after [Mirroar] request
- added display indication for helping know when you are standing on a trap
bugfix #3:
after friend testing
- fixed a fire trap bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#64Innovation3.78
#130Humor3.30
#141Mood3.40
#233Fun3.28
#235Theme3.36
#255Overall3.31
#361Graphics3.19

Comments

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Excellent job Kane, as someone not used to the ascii format I found that it was extremely accessible and it looks great. Interesting concept and a terrifying thought to be trapped in a dungeon with no body parts but with the power of immortality. Really liked it, keep up the good work!

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Interesting take on both roguelikes and immortality. It was really difficult but I beat it eventually, which is the right amount of difficulty for a roguelike. Sprinting across the room with your body on fire to grab a bandage is funny.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Funny concept. I liked the ascii graphics and the overall mood. But I felt some lack of control as I kept hitting traps and couldn't get very far.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice game, the ASCII format was a good choice for this. The level design is rather sadistic in a funny kind of way, I won't spoil anything.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

The roguelike-game of this Jam is here, nice job!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Cool concept for a roguelike kind of game. I found it to be pretty hard and got annoyed a bit at the fact that you can't really tell whether you're still standing on a trap. Bandages don't do much if you keep getting sprayed with fire or acid. :(

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really good ASCII game.

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:57am

This was a very interesting experience!
I really love roguelikes and the way you did immortality was awesome! Thumbs up!
-Flatgub

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19am

Loved the your interpretation of the theme

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice to see a roguelike in the compo, but didn't get it to run under windows, since a file was missing in the archive: libpdcurses.dll

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13pm

The first time I finished the game I was just one mediocre left arm and one good right arm. Laughed, when I read that you need your head to dring something. Funny :)

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I forget it in the new build >.<
Sorry HuntTheWumpus, I fix that right now!

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Fixed!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Extremely difficult to get through the dungeon, but it's a cool concept, I was kinda confused at first about losing my limbs but turns out, that I really need them!

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Yay! ASCII roguelikes for the win ^_^
It doesn't even have too overcomplicated mechanics (I still hit "Q" to Quaff - instead of P for Potion. Oh well :P
Awesome game!

WeGuys says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Really fun! I've never seen a game take use ascii graphics before, that really impressed me! Definitely giving this one a good rating.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I haven't tried them all, but somehow I'm confident this is the only game in the jam where you'll be left with just a head and one arm, dragging your bloody carcass onward. Really triggers the imagination.

Recommend any future immortals go on a quest for the rune of detect traps before undertaking this quest.

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

cool concept a real rouge like

hnjslater says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:44pm

ASCII FTW! Loved it.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Very well done.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Well executed, funny, great use of theme, I really liked this one!

foumart says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:05am

Good job on creating an ascii quest. I don't know if it is a bug or a trap but the character is sometimes transfered to the next level totally unexpectedly, which ruined my ambitions to .. take the gold. :D
Try expanding this into real roguelike with random generation :)

Kane says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

It was a trap, there is some shaft in the game ;)

tomc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

An interesting take on roguelikes. Although I never liked traps as a mechanic in RLs - it seems too much like a cheaty way to add difficulty.

Still, I really liked the way this game treats immortality. It reminds me of Torchwood! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Wow, nice! I really enjoyed this, great and innovative idea on the field of roguelikes, at least for me. Roguelikes were always about imagination -- but I somehow failed to imagine how head with only one arm remaining move.. I have to try harder I guess.. Good job :-)

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I'm not very familiar with roguelikes or ascii art but I found it accessible and I enjoyed it. I liked your take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]