Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Sneaky Sample Stealer - Nik Sudan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Who can resist the urge to nab as many free samples in a ridiculously overpriced shopping centre? Not you. However, the vendors will only give one sample to each person... Maybe if you put on different clothes you may get another? Just don't get caught doing so!

View Nik Sudan's journal. | View all entries by Nik Sudan

Ratings

Theme4.52
#4Overall4.17
#5Humor4.32
#12Graphics4.43
#15Audio3.93
#25Innovation4.03
#29Fun3.83
#33Mood3.87
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00am

Fits very well with the theme!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02am

Hahaha, nice!

Idioscopic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06am

This is amazing. Like completely and totally amazing.

ObsidianSkin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34am

Awesome game. Just played and rated on Game Jolt, but I am more than happy to leave a comment again for this fantastic submission.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

wish there was a web or osx version :(

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25am

Holy crap, this game looks awesome :D
I like this style a lot, it's really different from what I'm used to see from you. Also cool music as usual and nice interpretation of the theme, wunna see moar D:

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

All of the individual little pieces in this game come together to make this amazing game, though it doesn't have too mich of a goal besides "get samples."

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Hilarious idea, and the music was top notch as usual!

I'm just not sure if the game is getting any harder? It's a bit repetitive.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Full-5!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

this amused me greatly, and used the theme very well. i was impressed.

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

@gmfk07 What else is there to life other than to obtain free samples?

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Great use of theme! The graphics pleased my eye and the animations and controls were smooth as ass. Damn good job :)

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

It's fantastic game. Everything from idea and interpretting the theme to art style fits together perfectly. If only it wouldn't be so repetive after a while... :) Congratulation!

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Need....more....samples....

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

Fun and funny idea! Your music is really good!
It's kinda easy to get samples once you got the technique. :D

Enjoyed it, but it gets repetitive after a while. :)

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

Fun, good use of the theme.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

Quite enjoyable, if repetitive. Quite enjoyed the music and the quirky little green people.

Pol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36pm

The visuals are super fun but this look-behing-you thing got me real sick :I

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Confused the hell out of me. :(

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very fun and funny game! Loved the graphics and especially the music! Good job Nik :P

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very funny idea, fits the theme very well. A very good look and feel, especially the walking "animation" is funny to look at. I feel so guilty now, with all the samples...

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

In ur shop, stealin' ur samples.

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02am

Awesome game, pretty tight security at that place! Fun graphics. I did manage to grab 15 samples, silly cops. Nice detail that you can actually switch cloths when they are looking away.

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

Whoa this really surprised me, after just the screenshot and description. Very cool, the gameplay, graphics, audio and theme are all very well executed! The look behind feature is cool but just a little weird when you get walking forward again. I think the concept was very innovative and wonderfully executed, great job!

tnerb says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I love this game.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:16pm

When seeing the screens I didn't really like the art style. But when I started playing the game I fell in love with it. And the chiptune soundtrack is cool.
And I like how smooth the controls are :)

SK16Games says ...
Jan 8, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Haha, very fun! I stole 50 samples and then they saw me changing :'( Cool to see others that use GM too ;D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]