December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seven Eagles, One Lantern

by MadcoreTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Seven Golden Eagles can only be seen by the light of a flame.
Fortunately, you have your magic red lantern.
Collect all of the eagles to win

If you can't see the game, try installing a browser that supports WebGL. If JavaScript is disabled, this game won't work

This is my first 3D entry into Ludum Dare, so the level is a bit rough around the edges, but I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#159Mood3.36
#205Overall3.39
#217Graphics3.54
#231Audio3.04
#309Innovation3.19
#380Theme3.11
#557Fun2.78
#597Humor2.00

Comments

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:23pm

If you're having trouble using the mouse in Firefox, try updating your browser (go to the about page)
Bug: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=737100

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

i really liked it! i didn't use the mouse at all - didn't need it. well done! i got all 7 eagles - something that popped up to massage my ego at that point would have been great! nice little puzzles and visually it was really pleasing to explore. /A

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Thanks. A "You Win" message would have been easy now that I think about it. Oh well :)

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I like this a lot. Any game that frustrates to the point of wanting to quit and then think 'I'm clearly being stupid' and persevere must be doing something right! I got all o' them eagles! I like some of the techniques you used when rendering: nearest filtering and you actually clip the eagles to the light sphere. Super cool. :)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Fantastic. Really good.

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

Very nice.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:33am

Very well done! Great work on using WebGL! The entire experience was pleasant and good! I was just running around after finding all 7 looking for some kind of an exit :)

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:41am

The movement was a little fast for me, but on the other hand, I could look for stuff faster and not get bored!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:45am

Great music and nice puzzles :D I found all the 7 eagles.

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:31pm

The character moves a bit fast, so it feels a bit hard sometimes to release the lantern precisely on the switches. Also, the theme lacks presence in the gameplay. But I think you've gone a pretty hard road with the 3d webgl thing, and your game is well made. Good job !

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:17pm

You know, there's something in it. Simple retro level design... I loved it!
The concept is also great.
Good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Great puzzle premise! Amazing graphics, music, mood. Never did I feel frustrated, but rather motivated to continue looking for more golden eagles. You nailed the difficulty level! It was both fun and challenging.

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:25am

Great game! I really like the graphical style and you made good use of decoration to distinguish different areas of the maze. It took me a while to figure out that the hexagons were pressure pads (maybe have them activate when the player walks over them to make it more clear?), also I think I finished the game but I couldn't tell - I found all seven gold eagles but there was no victory screen/message, so I thought that maybe I had opened up a new area with an exit room or something and I wandered around for a few minutes more but couldn't find anything so I just exited with an unsure feeling. Overall though a really great game; good work! :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice work! An ending would have been cool, but still it had great atmosphere.

MadcoreTom says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Thanks for all of the great feedback everyone. Good luck for your results!
See you next comp!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]