December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

UNDERDEEP

by GeorgeBroussard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape the UNDERDEEP and recover the Sword of Badassery, five levels down. You only get one life and there's only one sword. Randomly generated levels are different every time. First person slashing action. Real-time environment destruction and you can hack through walls to make your way or escape danger.

WASD (ZQSD) + Mouse + LMB (slash) + RMB (block - redirects dmg to shield, vs health). -/+ (mouse sensitivity)

Kill stuff, collect stuff, recover the sword and escape the UNDERDEEP!

TIPS: Shield is disabled if you have no AC. Can use shield to block spider webs, as well as enemy attacks. Digging through rock costs AC.

THEME: You only get one life, and there's only one true sword. Slim theme but it's there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Fun3.87
#32Overall3.90
#45Graphics4.11
#61Mood3.69
#245Audio3.00
#270Humor2.86
#450Innovation2.98
#695Theme2.52
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

I love your work ! I watched your stream on twich, that was really an nice experience. Thank you, your game is amazing, the art is perfect !

Rscar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Enjoyed the frantic combat, and the effects were really well done, specifically the fog and spider(spider-thing?)-web. Great work, enjoyed the play!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

The sword of badassery is mine! Solid game man! Great work!

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

Dude this was great! Really liked the exploration. Solid environment work and very fun :)

Senevri says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Neat and simple, not sure how it relates to the theme.

xel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Lot of fun and nicely polished. Claimed the Sword of Badassery on my first try.

apuhl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

Great job George. Nice level of challenge in the game. Hit me at lvl4 where I had to start using better strategies. Could have used a creepy environmental audio track.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23am

wow, this is amazing for 48 hours! well done! i could see increasing the story aspect more since the graphics and atmosphere are so engaging!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27am

Once again George you make something incredible.
Always impressed with what people make in 48H!

Orni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29am

please provide the source code, it's required for /compo/
other than that, great game :)

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53am

Really well done. The visuals are great, and the combat was simple but satisfying. I don't see the theme in this, though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09am

Sweet graphics, good controls. Could use a faster mouselook speed though (configurable perhaps).

Where's the theme though?

Overall 3/5 due to lack of connection to theme.

trueplayer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I've spent many hours on Sunday watching your stream, was great fun. And the end result is fantastic!

As for the theme: There can be only one... life? Sword of Badassery? You choose! :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Great work, I especially like the pace of combat. My only complaint is that it's really unclear when I'm being hit. Definitely worth polishing into a post-comp release!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Wow this is amazing for 48 hours. I really like the retro graphics and gameplay a lot.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Very nice game George! I hope you develop it more post compo :) I think you have something really cool here.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52am

Quite nice and challenging dungeon crawler.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I love dungeon crawler games so this was right up my street. Nice responsive controls, great graphics, love it! Have you played Delver?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Ha, really nice. The wall breaking was a good mechanic.

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47am

The mouse sensitivity resets when I climb down. Also, I find it physically taxing to click for every slash. . . I'd prefer to hold the button down.

Otherwise quite badass.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

Impressive stuff for 48hrs.

I found the mouse sensitivity a little too low. But other than that really good fun.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39pm

@Mase: Mouse sensitivity no longer resets when going down a floor. Thanks. Good catch.

@daredevildave: you can turn the mouse sensitivity up/dn with -/+

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Oooooh this is SO good! Sword of Badassery FTW! ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Looks great, overall a really nice atmosphere

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

impressive work, great job!

ArsenioDev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very nice! i hope that this will become more than just a jam game!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51am

Loved this! The atmosphere was awesome, and being able to run from a large group of enemies by smashing through the wall saved my ass many times :) Any chance you might take it further after the jam?

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Really nice entry, lacks a little "What do I know now" sort of feeling :)

Thanks for the experience.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I really like the system of protection. This compromise between defense and action dictate a specific rhythm which is nice.

It could have been great to have to finish the level with the sword of badassery, being overpowered.

madballneek says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Love it! It's very inspiring to see you making the jump to a 3D game (I think I'm going to be following suit with my next entry) and I enjoyed watching your development on Twitch.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Its very amazing dungeon brawler game, but there is no theme matching and it's ridiculously hard to pass the floor. Anyway it was fun and I will give you 4/5 overall.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:30pm

@Sertkaya, thank you. re: theme...you only have one life? :) re: difficulty...you can try running past some enemies and collecting items as you go, or using your sword to break walls and escape large groups of enemies!

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice job!

rubna says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Wow! Great work! I got to the big sword of badassery :D Really liked the game

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Lovely game. Unfortunately, you can run through the floors and mostly ignore the enemies. The fighting itself is fun and together with blocking and shield durability, it gets a bit tactical, too. The visuals have their own charm. Good job! With a bit more gameplay in terms of enemies or environmental interaction, this would be a perfect game. Did you consider to force the player to dig through to the next ladder (while marking the walls necessary to break). If the enemies then always walk towards the player, he must cope with them while continue digging.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Fantastic! I was thinking of doing a doom fan thing but couldn't wedge the theme in and you turn up with wolfenstein :)

Is it software rastered like Notch's Chamber or is it 3D painted to look retro?

sanojian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:34pm

This game is great. I especially like the varied creatures with different abilities. Amazing for 48 hours. A little music would have made this game complete.

moop says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Awesome looking game. Gameplay felt fun also.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Really nice, man! I was totally absorbed!

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:09pm

This was really fun. It felt like an old school dungeon crawler. Nicely done!

deepnight says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

This LD entry of yours is really the most impressive you've submitted so far! The gameplay is really complete & solid and it's really fun to play :)

Maybe a bug: a few mobs actually hit me right after they died. Just like if their "attack decision" wasn't properly canceled by their prematured death.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Superb! Astonishing work for 48hrs, well done! Is there a cheat for people who suck? (c'est moi?) :d

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:45pm

@deepnight: Thank you. Thought I squashed that one but will look again.

@DustyStylus: if it's too hard, just try running around/past large groups of bad guys. Always be looking to health and armor to stay topped off. Avoid the big goblins with the hammer if you can as they do the most damage.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Incredible work, i realy like graphics and gameplay. Having bigger level at the end is great, and the loot system is simple but effective. I had a little trouble understanding the blocking system, what could be blocked. I died 4 times before winning, and it was tense. Thank for this game.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29pm

@NuSan: The blocking system is easy but the game suffers from lack of tips/instructions. Basically if you block then 100% of damage goes to AC. If you have AC and don't block, then the damage is split 50/50 across AC and health. No AC, you can't block and health takes 100%. Thanks for looking at the game.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Can't play it :(. Why does it not load in my browser? Other unity games are working?!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54pm

SiENcE: Try re-launching your browser? Unity plug-in is funny sometimes. Game is fine, though, or at least I have no reproducible browser issues.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Ok, working. Startscreen is black until the cursor goes into lock mode. I love dungeon crawlers :) Great game for 48h! I'm also developing one http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=24705.0 ... but not for LD.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:08pm

@SiENcE: Glad it worked. What OS/browser out of curiosity? Your tig dungeon crawler looks neat. Legend of Grimrock was my personal GOTY 2012 :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:17am

What a solid tiny-little throw back to the "good ol' days" of 3d gaming! I had a really hard time believing this was Unity, the movement, graphics, and feel are so perfectly old-school. Well done!

Also, thank you so much for the comment on my game. Duke3D was the bombshell event in my life that led me to game development; so it's beyond amazing to know you played something I made. :)

embero says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:43am

I love dungeon crawlers. Good work, I really liked it. Graphics and SFX are nice.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Glad to see, that you did the FPS, just like we talked a week ago. :D

Looks great, very interesting gameplay, maybe because I just LOVE roguelikes with permadeath, so 3D-roguelike is great by default. :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Incredible work done for such short period of time! Respect! The game is great and feels complete with the only exception of missing music.
Is the Underdeep followed by the Underdark? ;)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:28am

super nice. love the control scheme. very fun.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I liked the retro feel of the presentation. Game was functional, which is a rare thing in some jam. like the presentation. Text and information was also well represented.

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:36am

Pretty nice, but it felt like it'd be a rogue-like and then it let me down. I wanted to manage my inventory!

ashen says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Very impressive game for 48 hours. I love the enemy graphics and the destructible walls. I really should try making a raycaster one day, but some of the math looks a bit funky to do in 2 days. Reminds me of Prelude of the Chambered but with a faster pace and more action game feel. Well done!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24pm

It is such an awesome game O_O I was totally hooked. Even though the use of the theme was weak, the gameplay, graphics and atmosphere were great.

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Incredible how you managed to recreate the dungeon crawler genre with unity!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I did not find the sword of badassery :(

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Very interesting game! It's wonderful! I played it many times, and I want more.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Complex, vast and polished. It's true that the theme is only slightly represented, but it's a great game and I had lots of fun playing it. Good job.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Incredible I loved it. Great Work :D

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:19am

The game plays smooth and looks very stylish, I liked that. But I found it strange that any hit, not only when digging, takes away AC. Other than that, well done!

Venturelli says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I found the feel to be good, but the design does not gel well overall. The wall-breaking stuff is not integrated with the game in any way, and there is no need to fight the monsters since the resources are scattered on the floor. I was able to beat the game the first time in under a minute by just running through everything until I found the stairs/sword

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Great job! It's almost perfect in every way! I'd love to see a post compo version with more features.

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Pretty nice! Love it

Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:55pm

ha! I remember you from Unhappy Holiday!

Your work is amazing. I loved this one. Underdeep = Waterdeep + Underdark ?

Top marks!

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Really nicely done, especially for such a short amount of time! I enjoyed the art style and all the different animations. The different effects stood out to me too, like when you start a new game and all the text comes in, it just looks nice. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]