December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

AAAAARGH!

by Waynetron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

----------------------------------------
THE GIST OF IT
----------------------------------------

World domination on a budget. Unfortunately we could only afford one plane. You will have to make do by capturing the enemy planes and using those against them.

Jump onto the enemies planes and throw them overboard to earn points.
Longer jumps with more air-time are worth more points.

----------------------------------------
CONTROLS
----------------------------------------

STEERING
<LEFT> and <RIGHT> to steer. <UP> for thrust.

EJECTING:
This is your main method for taking out (taking over) enemy planes
Hold down <SPACE> to charge and release to launch from the plane.
It is tricky to accomplish, but the only way to earn points. Each successful plane takeover will also increase your points multiplier.

SHOOTING
Fire the machine gun by pressing <Z>. Kills with the machine gun receive no points. Your points multiplier will also be reset.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#72Humor3.59
#82Innovation3.71
#148Graphics3.75
#214Fun3.32
#310Mood3.05
#315Overall3.24
#347Theme3.15

Comments

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Super tricky, but fun once you get the hang of it. Also love how a lot of planes enter the screen already upside-down... they mean business.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Overall quite charming! It's an amusingly dramatic way to fight aerial warfare.

Also, am I allowed to shoot enemy ships just for fun?

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Cool art. The game reminds me of this BF3 video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOaGhE_sejI

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28am

This was hilariously fun! Really difficult too, I ended up hovering in one spot and ejecting into planes when they flew past! I can't help but feel that it needed sound though..

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

love the gameplay. You're a seriously decent designer with those nice roundy graphics.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great game with a truly unique concept! It's fun to play this simple addictive but very hard game. Would be nice to have some control over the pilot after leaving the plane ;)

Waynetron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:11pm

^ Yes, agreed. Was considering some pilot air control. But ran out of time before getting to explore the idea.

If I do a post-compo version. Adding sound is probably first on the list. Pilot air control would be next. Unfortunately I had to cut a lot of ideas after I burned most of the weekend trying to get the plane physics feeling nice.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01pm

difficulty is fine, so long as the difficulty curve is reasonable. It may have been wise to start the player off with larger enemy planes, making it a bit easier for them to land jumps, then have the challenge ramp up with smaller, nimbler planes.
I know there's a fun and rewarding game hidden in here somewhere, but I shouldn't have to work so hard to find it.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Oh my god, really hard game. I liked the vector-graphic style. I have missed sound, the game could improve a lot with it.
Good job!

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

wow, this is addicting.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

So far this is my favorite of LD28! It's such a simple concept , but it's very addictive. :)

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32am

Oh man this is fun. I almost wanted to quit, but if you take a few minutes to learn it, it's actually a lot of fun. And oh man, the feeling when you have captured a plane! Fun!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Great graphics, but I've never known that flying a plane can be so difficult. I managed to throw off a couple of enemy planes, but no more - the controls are simply too hard for me to grasp.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:47pm

funny game! the name would be tough to remember :P

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really funny, addicting, hard game. Well done! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]