December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Once Charged

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your weapon only has one charge. Destroy all the enemies in the zone with just that one charge!

Once you are in the menu screen, press enter to play.

Puzzle/shooting game. Requires quick reactions and a brain. All instructions ingame.

When you have finished playing, please post in the comments what level you got to. If anyone can beat the final level, I'll be impressed (so far, nobody except me has beaten it. And I took 50 tries. You'll need some smart thinking and very quick reactions.)

WASD - Move
Click - Shoot

Other info:
I ran out of time with this game. I would have liked to have added more levels - hopefully these levels are challenging enough. I'd planned for a "bonus" mode whenever you succeeded first time.

If someone can compile it for Mac, I would be very grateful. Uses SFML 2.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#95Theme3.67
#237Innovation3.30
#342Audio2.81
#354Overall3.18
#370Fun3.04
#588Mood2.63
#737Graphics2.44

Comments

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Quite fun and difficult game, it's not frustrating

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

The game is hard, but challenging. For me the movement speed was a bit too unprecise and the angle of the square was not identical with the angle to the mouse cursor.
Overall nice game :)

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Sorry I meant "Hard and challenging" (but in a good way) ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very difficult game (to me, at least). It was fun though.

The sound effects are especially tasty, though very loud compared to the music.

When a level is complete, it'd be nice if you just clicked to advance instead of having to move your hand over to enter.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

This game didn't work for me, the menu loaded but
the start button didn't do anything.
The music was very nice though.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Wow really difficult game :) Well done. :)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Awesome use of the theme. And overall a really interesting and well made little game.

Quite challenging.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Good game, but it can be pretty frustrating and repetitive considering the difficulty.

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I didn't care for the auto-generated music, but the gameplay was pretty fun. It would be nice to have a button to trigger the enemies instead of having to wait for the timer to run out. Good puzzle mechanics on this one.

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Fun game, although I couldn't beat the last level!

In fact I think I found a bug where my shot would go through the exploding block.. this is when I was right underneath it.

Quite challenging, but the game was explained well so it wasn't too frustrating.

Nice job!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Dat hard doe.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I MANAGED TO BEAT MY GAME, AT LAST!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

****!
Cool arcade feel. I did complete 4 kings on soul level 1 in dark souls. Not 4 Zones in Once Charged.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A frustrating experience XD

Firstly: it'd be nice if you could trigger the enemies yourself, since phase 4 is quite hard.

Secondly: the damn laser guys ignored the laser cubes and shot through them to catch me, that's unfair >:(

Nice game :D

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

It's a very good concept for a puzzle/action game. A few things I think could be improved:
- The movement and block pushing is very imprecise. I often pushed a block too far.
- Some objects are placed at awkward positions that make enemies collide at the very edge and act unpredictably
- I found the tiles unintuitive - at first I thought the '->' tile shoots another laser to the right. Also didn't realise only enemies can shoot it (or can they?).
- Projectiles seem to have a far bigger collision range than is drawn, which caused a lot of mystery deaths
- No indication of why the level was failed, which was particulary frustrating in the last level when enemies spawned right next to their spawns (which I also thought were plain walls).
- Timer should be skippable
- The instructions repeated things a lot, which made me wonder if they'd actually changed or not, making them a bit tiresome to read.

That said, the game is fun and would probably be very good with more time and levels.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

interestingly fun, but the controls feel muddy and imprecise

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Oh man, that last level seems totally impossible, I couldn't see any way it could be done. Fun though! Kept me trying for quite a while.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

It can be done! Honest!

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

Really enjoyed the concept. The idea of preparing the world gave the game a feeling of time manipulation; as if I were pausing time and moving objects around for my benefit, up until time decided to return with all its abrupt harshness to try and destroy me.

The game had a great feel to it, the particles were excellent and all the shots moved at an overly fast speed, with an accompaniment of laser sounds which made it feel nothing short of powerful.

The puzzles were interesting enough and worked well to compliment the fast paced action once the timer had started. I think you're onto something with the combination of thoughtful and reflex gameplay, and it's something you should perhaps consider expanding on in a post compo version.

Unfortunately, due to the game's difficulty, I was only able to make it to level 3. Not being able to instantly timeout the count down timer made the penalty for death a little too harsh, too, but this is a minor criticism which would obviously be easy to fix.

Overall nice work!

khahem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23am

Here is a Mac OSX build: http://kmichel.info/pighead10/OnceChargedMac.zip :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Added to description! Will upload to my site later.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57pm

A nice, snappy game; it's rather difficult, but that's okay.

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:34pm

The movement seemed very imprecise for me, and it was hard to play the game, let alone do the levels properly. The puzzles were good, but I just found a hard time getting my character to do what I wanted him to do.

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Cool concept, and hard but fun gameplay. I kind of wish the overall game speed was slowed down a bit, it might allow for more interesting levels without making the difficulty too insane. Also, it would have been nice to have more levels. And some graphics that weren't colored squares. I made it to the last level, and I think I could have beat it, but I couldn't seem to trigger the exploding box. I literally tried 10 times, and when I shot the box my bullet just went right through it without the box exploding.

Kane says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:25am

A little awkward to play but nice to do ! Never finished the last level :(

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Super hard game! I liked the challenging aspect of it, and it took quite a while before it got too frustrating. I think it could use a *little* bit of a gentler learning curve to round out the game, but otherwise I think you did well. Good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]