December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

TekkuNikku

by Robotic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if you only had ONE attack in a fighting game ? You better create your only stance carefully !


Play it solo or with a friend, using controllers. (Keyboard version on its way)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#16Innovation4.08
#29Graphics4.26
#40Fun3.76
#41Humor3.80
#60Overall3.77
#165Theme3.50
#191Mood3.30
#226Audio3.05

Comments

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

Really nice, especially when you're fighting on mid-air! The only thing missing is some funky music in the background. I assume a restart button will be on its way sometime?

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Very fun and original ! It lacks a kind of trendy techno music from the 80's :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

You really should have made this keyboard compatible. You're not going to get many ratings without it...

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

This is so funny!! I love the game!!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really sweet idea. One of the better uses of the theme

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

Looks nice :), reminds me of ragdoll fighters (plus a bit of toribash), the only thing is that the arms and legs are so short that it feels a bit too random, as if the position were irrelevant.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

Absolutely amazing, I can't believe you managed to get this amount of polish into a LD48. Really satisfying to get a hit, and the slow motion "matrix" kill move at the end is inspired. The only thing I can think of is... does the stance actually make any difference? Awesome job :)

Btw - inspired by Sumotori Dreams? If not, play it, its so funny!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20am

Funny concept and awesome execution. Took a while to figure out what was going on, but after figuring it out it turned into a breakdancing fight to the death. Good job!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

An interesting game, but I didn't notice much if any difference in the attacks

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

This is extremely ridiculous, but it doesn't seem like the original setup really has any effect

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

This game was super fun and impressive for the time limit,but the controls for combat with mouse/keyboard were not listed so it took me longer than it should have to figure out how to play. A "Controls" option on the menu would have sufficed.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

This is hilarious. Reminds me of that other sumo game... The attack names are pretty funny too! And I feel like this is was a lot of work for 2 days, so really nice job on that.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

This is so much fun and humorous. From the satisfying pause and flash that happen on a hit to the ludicrous positions and names, the game is great. Fun playing solo, now I just need to find an opponent. The one thing that's missing is a cheesy old kung fu movie background track.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27am

This is amazing.

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30am

This is quite a cool little fighting game. It wasn't really clear what preparing your move did though, it seemed like once the fight started they just turned into flailing ragdolls. The visual style is great!

Dooleus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Cool visuals and interesting toribash-esque gameplay, but doesn't seem to have a lot of depth or skill involved. Needs music.

Evilion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Obviously it needs kinect.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

verry awesome good game

KamikaziUk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Awesome work :D

Hiku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:46am

LOL, this is the best game I played in this Ludum Dare :D

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Ok, I have to say that is really hard to make good looking 3D in Unity. You succeed perfectly! Lighting, models and palettes are just PERFECT! :D I wish I could dig into the code of this entry hehe! :p

Anyway, the gameplay was very funny, even though it seems I'm rubbish at it! :D

Tonasz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Totally awesome! I've been playing it with my friend about an hour, laughing the whole time!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:18am

Great use of the theme. Super funny and unique, with a memorable graphical style and lots of polish to boot.

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:26pm

A lot of fun and looks great. A favourite with my class at the moment!

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:28am

I like this idea lol.
Pretty funny!

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Oh man, this game was so perfect! It had everything fun stuffed into it, overflowing with it, even! I really loved it. The fights and situations generated, mid-air attacks, insane clashes were too cool, too funny xD
And THOSE SOUNDS. I can't even start. So much win.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Amazing entry, very well done! Nicely polished and designed - rated highly. :)

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Superawesomishious!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]