December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Princess Kingdom

by ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Hero has been kidnapped by the Evil, and the Princess has to do all the work to restore the Kingdom and save him.

Sadly, each item she collects can only be stored once.

Tip: to jump over fire you might need brand new shoes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#11Overall4.09
#25Fun3.86
#64Graphics4.03
#101Innovation3.63
#111Mood3.49
#141Theme3.55
#149Humor3.23
#367Audio2.77

Comments

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

I'm really enjoying this one! One of my favs. Very solid work here! :)

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

Really good use of the theme. A bit slow at the beginning though.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55am

Great graphics, very well polished. I'm not sure what the real challenge in the world map mode is though.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56am

Solid implementation :)

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

This game was amazing, by far my favorite game I have played thus far! I am amazed how you managed to put this together in 48 hours!

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Loved it! Great graphics and solid gameplay. Quite a lot of content as well, you always have something to do.
Great job!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18am

Wow, a surprising amount of depth here! Excellent work, I'm most impressed.

fall_ark says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

My only complaint is the control in the castle being a little bit floaty. Especially ledge jumps are hard to pull off.

Otherwise, good work! :D

lantto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Very nice game and awesome graphics but I got stuck at Castle Level 3 and couldn't get past the fire.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Fun and engaging game! I played it longer than I planned to.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Great entry! Awesome graphics and amazing level of polish.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I really like how you've created a whole universe.
Nice touch with the princess character.
It was fun defeating the evil.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Wow, all that stuff in this one... you must posses some super powers to get this done in 2 days... ;)

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Awesome!
City building part is perfect (only dialog sounds are boring ^^) but castle could have been better (controls, level design and rendering wise).

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

It's comforting to know you can always rely on drunken soldiers, heart throwing skills, wealthy spiders and cucumber strength.
Very nice entry, tons of fun ! Bravo :)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59am

Good concept and addictive gameplay. I like this one :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19pm

The best entry I have played so far, addictive gameplay which kept me playing way longer than other ones I have played. The ludum dare entry I have spent the most time playing :D Also Incredible graphics. Really aced it :)

jward says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I played this for some time. Great job! When I started moving quickly, I appreciated that the menus updated when actions happened in the background.

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very well done in only 48 hours. At first, I found it a little bit frustrating that you only get one, but I enjoyed playing for quite a long time. Congrats.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Great game! Your idea was very similar to mine. :) Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Bom trabalho, eu amo o estilo deste jogo :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

"Due to the fact he ..." Loved that line, not going to spoil it!

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I can't believe I've been playing this for an hour... Great game.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Truly one of my favorites. Amazing!

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

I couldn't figure out how to get past the lava on level 3.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23am

Completed! Ohh this is so addictive.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

Nice gameplay! Really catchy! Nice implementation of the "You only get one". At the end I believe I was overleveled after one hour of playing lol. There was not much to do at the end because there was no way of spending some resources. A suggestion is a little bit more rewarding victory screen :P

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:50am

Very complete and polished. Also I'm a sucker for these incremental games!

TFJO says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56am

Aw... It doesn't work for me, in the title screen, when it say "click to start", I can click all I want, but it won't launch the game proper...

I'm using Windows 8.1, with up-to-date Firefox, an up-to-date install of the Flash player...

TFJO says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:20am

*says
*and an up-todate install...

I should go to sleep

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

Anything that even remotely reminds me of Actraiser is automatically awesome. I played this sucker for a loooong time and ended up slaying the end boss like a champ.

Awesome use of theme and great, innovative mash-up of limted resources, timing, platforming, combat, upgrades... just so much going on.

Outstanding entry!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57am

Awesome game, it kept me playing for about an hour! The amount of content is really surprising for a LD game! The graphics are nice, and I like the game mechanics built around the theme, the idea of collecting resources to finish the levels of the castle was quite clever... Well balanced, you're always busy with collecting something or trying to finish a level of the castle. Good job, I had fun playing it! :D

Senevri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:18am

Had to play all the way through. Something like this could definitely be developed further.

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:49am

Good pacing of complexity as the game progresses

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I almost gave up because of the horrible platforming control. Otherwise, an innovative concept and great game.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Great concept. The platforming part should be improved. Other than that one of my favourites.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Congratulations, great work!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:33am

Bon boulot comme toujours :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00am

Possibly my fave so far, truly addictive right to the end.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A very addictive game. The graphics and the audio are okay. Really enjoyed playing this. The platforming part feels not that good (jumping over gaps can get annoying and the enemies are hard to predict... it is mostly a run towards them and hoping you got enough health). This is sad, because the strategical part is very, very fun to play!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38am

I really enjoyed your take on the theme. very addictive gameplay. Job well done!

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:44am

I liked it a lot. Was slow at the beginning but it got more and more hectic, which was awesome.

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:57am

Really really good game ! Excellent take on the theme

First I did not really understand how to play it, I clicked everywhere and finally, the house was the key.

It would be great to be able to speed up dialogs with SPACE, because it's often boring to get your mouse to the top to speed up dialogs.

IA is quite dumb, but with all the work you put in this game, I can easily understand. For example, I force the boss to go to the floor level so I could easily beat him in a face to face.

I had a small bug, when you clear a level, if there are monster's missile remaining, they will "freeze" and the door won't show up, I had to kill myself.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:49am

Great art, Nicolas! Very addictive game as well.

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:19am

I really like the two modes of fighting and town building. It reminds me of Act Raiser. The art and animation is very charming, and the premise is very cute, one of my favorites so far!

Dyn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Really nice and addictive game. Great job.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great entry! I'm amazed you managed to get ALL THAT done in such a short amount of time! Good job! Was candybox an inspiration? It reminds me a bit of that but with graphics. I liked the town building more than the jumpy princess bit, but then I'm not a massive fan of platformers generally. Anyway, good job well done! :)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Thanks to all the comments so far. I had a lot of fun making it and I'm glad you're having fun playing it as well :) I'm currently thinking about making a more HUGE version of it later next year.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Probably the best game I played so far. I love the graphics and the gameplay is just awesome. Only too things to criticize if I had too: Music would make this even better and it got a tiny bit tedious towards the end. Great job!

barkergames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:32am

Very addicting!

The talking got annoying though.

Great job!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:49am

Great entry, I especially like the art and the length of the game is perfect considering its a jam entry

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Truly fantastic game probably one of the best games I have played in LD28.

P.S. Art is dramatically improved over other entries.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Very fun game, I love the discovery process. I just wish the game saves your state when you exit the screen.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:11am

Good job ! I played it for a long time, even with the basic sounds :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:45am

Got a little boring after a while, and I found castle level 4 significantly harder than level 5 (due solely to the platforming elements). Game looked great though, I liked how you used the theme.

Knighty says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:40am

Pretty good, the only problem I had is with the platforming sections. The jump over the lava in stage 3 was pretty difficult, even with the shoes. The Fire+ powerup seemed to make my attacks worse, since it lowered my firing frequency.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Solid! I love how there's a princess saving someone else, for a change.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Inexplicably compelling...

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:46am

wow, you got pretty far in just 48 hours :O like it pretty much

Lipedal says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Fantastic entry! I'm addicted to it, having only one of each item is simply genius. Grats!

dudsen says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:28pm

And the girl has to do all the housework as usual -.- Great game and amazingly complex for a 48h jam! The little princess-platformer levels spice things up very nice. What else to say? Boooze ? :D

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nice game about managing a village with only one resource of each kind... this made me keep clicking madly at times, trying to keep up with all the resources I had and stuff I had to do. XD

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Very awesome game.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The very best theme entry so far, I think! Actually amazing how, if you keep everything going, you can get just one of something to grow into something :)

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Pretty awesome!
It's addictive and enjoyable, I like it :D

SiENcE says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice graphics. The overall gameplay speed is a bit slow.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

this is really an awesome game, great work! i love the limitation of only being able to hold one item and how the game reveals itself as you play. this would be an awesome mobile game

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

Surprisingly engaging and funny! My only complaint is that I clicked a bookmark on accident and my progress was wiped...

ZYXer says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Wow, what an amazing game! Love the story, the graphics the mood...

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Awesome game. I really love your pixel graphics. The game was really well made.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Very nice entry with a humorous twist :)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great entry, enjoyed this a lot. :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:15pm

good entry! Fun & very well made. ^-^

deepnight says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:18pm

This is probably the entry I spent most time on. Excellent gameplay, VERY addictive! You should definitely make a game out of it ;)
The platforms were a bit annoying though. Small gameplay tip: when the player falls, allow the jump action for a few frames after the beginning of the fall. It gives much more control on jumps and removes the unpleasant feeling you have in your game: you miss lots of jumps because you pressed UP key 1 frame too late.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]