December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Serious Surgery

by FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

Left/right arrows: roll
Up arrow: jump
Space: proceed to a next level
R: restart a level
E: map editor I used to create the levels

Story:

In a world where people have spherical shapes, you are *the* hard-working heart surgeon known to mankind. You can do heart transplants in an instant, you're just that efficient.

You love what you do, but the hospitals where you work at aren't too great with their room-layouts. Operating tables are scattered in the buildings. Now you need to not only transplant hearts, but also find the patients!

Anyway, have fun with this silly game.

I interpreted the theme as you as a surgeon only get one heart to make one person better. The original owner of the heart cannot also get a heart to survive. It kindof grew from there and in the end had multiple patients, which doesn't fit the theme as well as it did ;).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#36Humor3.83
#73Fun3.63
#170Audio3.19
#205Overall3.39
#231Mood3.19
#233Innovation3.32
#323Graphics3.26
#865Theme2.16

Comments

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

I love this! Congrats :D

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39am

Great! The world needs more spherical people!
Nnly complaint is that the difference between donors & recipients wasn't too obvious, at first.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

I love it! The hand-drawn characters are cute and the controls work well. My only gripe is that I don't really see how it ties into the "You Only Get One" theme.

zmas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I really like the movement and feeling of speed. I think the concept would be alot better if the goal where to get through a map quickly meat boy style. That would give the sense of satisfaction when you where done and replayability!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Nice game. The bouncy physics were really fun, though the jump button could be intermittent (I think I was just off the ground or something) but this wasn't really a problem in practice.
The sounds fit the game really well.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Cool, but for some reason the walls and such don't load, won't appear. I can play the game with invisible walls though...

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I love the movement and the sounds. The game design (use of the theme especially) could've been better.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02am

I found the controls pretty frustrating at times, and the levels would use indicator to show you where to go, but it's an interesting take on the platformer genre.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52am

This is absolutely hilarious, "whee" "owe" "yay." My main criticism is that it didn't have more game play elements, but, still this is fantastic!

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03am

Yaaaay.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43am

That was fun! But after a few levels it gets repetitive. And it's not very challenging.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

This is hilarious! I was rofling as hard as the characters.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very fun and a cool idea. I liked gameplay a lot. As someone else said having more gameplay elements would be cool. There is a lot of stuff you can do with the concepts. The sound and humor was also enjoyable.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

This ain't a silly game :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

A very interesting theme, hard to pinpoint. The mix of organ donation and happy go lucky sounds and facial expressions strikes a very good chord. A very unique entry.

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Hilarious, love the sounds!

Kimau says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Really loved playing this. I was all like roll out of my way I have a heart to rip out and throw into someone. :) Well done

van noctar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:27am

Very good ambience!! I like the gameplay!!

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Cool game dude!

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Great fun :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:51pm

haha nice...should have more levels! great job!

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Haha, silly game. A bit too easy for my taste. Might need a timer or something. Hep - ouch - ouch - yeah!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:16am

lol haha, nice

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:19am

yay, i saved the day a lot

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

One of the most innovative entries:)

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:59am

awsomely silly little platformer. loved in introduction of other hospital patrons who get in the way. well done.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:59am

Yay!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]