December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Curse of Mellon

by kyyrma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Curse of Mellon

Curse of Mellon is a simple Metroidvania-type of game, with the catch being that you only have one minute to make your way to the fabled Crystal Skull. You can extend your time by picking up artifacts, but be aware that once you die or your time runs out you lose all the artifacts you have collected and get returned to the dungeon entrance!

The environment doesn't reset even if you get thrown back to the entrance, so use that to your advantage. Open up shortcuts and find a way to get the Crystal Skull!

Controls:
Z - jump
X - bomb
Enter - pause / return to entrance
Arrow key left / right - movement
Arrow key up - activate switches

Please note that the all the options in the main menu simply start the game.

The game uses the Emulogic font.

NOTE: There are some reports of the game crashing. If you experience such behaviour, could you kindly report your OS and any error messages the game throws. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#74Audio3.53
#262Mood3.13
#277Graphics3.37
#344Fun3.09
#391Overall3.14
#618Theme2.65
#629Humor1.95
#799Innovation2.41

Comments

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Unfortunately the game bugged out and crashed when I tried to flip the switch. Seems like some kind of memory leak? Not sure. Liked the sound and graphics though!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:37pm

@meek: Unfortunate! Thanks for giving it a shot still :-)

I've tried the game on three different PCs, and I can't reproduce the issue. If anyone else has the same problem, please leave a comment so I know to look into it.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice, but it was very frustrating to start from the beginning every time I hit a snake.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Constantly crashing so I'm not rating. Loved the graphics!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Good Game, I really like that when you die the dungeon isn't resetted :P so I can take some shortcuts

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Thanks for taking the time to try it!

@Sam, @Meek: What OS are you running? Also, did the game throw any error message as it crashed?

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

First game I try in the rating phase! Let's see...

Maybe I'm the only one, but the atmosphere strongly touched me. Becaue the graphics is obviously retro-style, but if we watch is closer, even the gameplay, and the music has a perfect NES-game feeling. And the music is is the best in this aspect...I can't really explain...it brings back memories for me about those games I played back in the day on my Famicon.

Because of this, both Audio and Mood are insta-fives!

Graphics are nice: I couldn't see many of them, but those work perfectly! So yeah, this only deserves a five.

I didn't want to play through the whole game, but I love that it promises a lot of playing time. Also, I enjoyed the not-too-hard but still not too easy tasks, so Fun is a 4.

YOGO...life? Theme is still 4, anyway.

Well, even though I love these exploration-based, "explore every screens" style games, this is not so new, so Innovation is just a 3.

Overall it's still 5 for me, and I may be the only one with this rating, I still hope you'll be in top200, because you should as I feel.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

@Katamori: Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review! Really appreciate it :)

Regarding the theme, I my implementation is "You only got one (minute)" Although you can get more time by picking up the items, so it's no exactly true :D

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

@kyyrma: I experienced that both other people and myself love longer reviews, so I try to do that if I can.

Hm, one minute? After LD27 (10 seconds) it's not the best choice but IDC, because as I mentioned, the fact that even gameplay and music are retro-style, it saved the game. :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

i liked the gfx and music.. took me an age to figure out how to flick the switch..maybe i should read things first haha

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@kyyrma: and sorry for double posting but I must highlight again that the music seriously touched me.

Pyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I really like it. The jumping feels a little odd but I had fun playing it.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

@Pyro: Yeah, its like riding an elevator. I was going to implement a smoother, gravity based jump but I simply didn't have the time.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I liked it overall :) The sound was lovely and I loved the mechanics behind the game.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Ow, this brings back memory's! Love the retro nes style! Only thing is that the gravity feels a little weird, but since it looks so retro I can live with it :). Didn't get any crashes by the way.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32pm

good graphics but very frustrating

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Ow, this brings back memory's! Love the retro nes style! Only thing is that the gravity feels a little weird, but since it looks so retro I can live with it :). Didn't get any crashes by the way.

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

This game gave me so nostalgia and feels ;_;
Just because of this cool vintage style (just like on c64), and.. the whole gameplay and levels are pretty good and enjoyable. Big up!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12am

I really liked the music of this game. Also great graphic style!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:18am

I really like the music/graphics/general atmosphere! The Jumping mechanic did feel a bit funny, especially as you fall at the same rate as you jump

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Ah I forgot to ask: Is there a download link for the music somewhere? :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Awesome! reminded me of old NES games and such. Was a little bit frustrating having to start over but I got there in the end. Really nicely done!

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great music and graphics! Gameplay was also really fun and tight! Pretty tough game though!

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

crashed a few times but enjoyed what didnt crash

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:30am

The NES style gameplay, graphics, and sound really make me feel at home. Love your treatment of the Metroidvania-genre. The environment not resetting is a great feature and it really rewards exploration.
The jumping felt kinda floaty, I think a bit more gravity could improve the feel.

Thumbs up, 4 stars!

Cheers, Marcus

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:39am

Hey this guy sure knows how to jump! Puts Nathan Drake to shame! ;) Very retro, very good. Just add gravity, would be perfect.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:22pm

A standard but very solid Metroidvania. The fact that doors stay open when you restart is a nice touch. (I thought it was odd that you still have to pick up items again, but since you get a time boost when you do, I'm not going to complain.)

The graphics felt a bit too basic for me, though that's a taste thing. The music is pleasant, if a bit repetitive.

A complaint: if I press Enter and get the "Return? yes/no" menu, I get sent back to the start of the game no matter what I pick. Apart from that, I didn't find any bugs.

I haven't finished it yet (couldn't figure out where to go after I got the Ring of Power), but it's a very nice little game, and very big and deep for 48 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]