December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pay Back

by Dixum - Jam Entry

You owe a lot of money to a loanshark. You have only one day to pay him back.

Press space to get past title screen.

Move with WASD or arrowkeys.

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

The sound effects are priceless!

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Yes I beat it. Nice bullet sound, nice humor, and good concept.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Nice sound effects! =D Love how other cops don't give a f*ck about their collegues getting shot. =D

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Quite good. A little short, but understandably so. The game play was fast-paced and pretty funny. The graphics could have used some more love, but the audio was pretty good. Well done.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22pm

This is a good concept however the shitty game engine ruined it, controlling my guy was really awkward and it was too easy to get away from the cops as there bullets moved no faster than you.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

@crockid5 Thats not the game engines fault!
I cant run this sorry

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Fun throwback - and the granny sounds are great - the music was starting to drive me a little insane, but I liked the sound effects so I didn't want to mute anything. Maybe a little more diverse (or simpler) music and an option to mute?

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Heh heh. Pretty quick and fun little game. The sound effects were funny.. and the plot twist caught me off guard. :P

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

@vanaficionado
You probably have to update your java. I don't know what version he developed in, but I have the most recent installed and I can run it fine.

jjc180 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Enjoyed the sound effects - good humour. I found it a bit hard to control, pressing two arrow keys didn't seem to work. Did you run out of time? I couldn't figure out what to do at the bank and the game just ended.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49am

I have java version 1.7.0_75 Its pretty recent.

Dixum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Thank you all for the great feedback! As you have noticed we did not quite finish the game. However we learnt a lot and had a great time.

Regarding the AI and controlling problems, we are aware of them and did not have the time to fix them. This game was quit too much for us to handle actually ;)

@vanaficionado That is truley wierd, what system are you on?

lubos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I will rob a BANK! And that sounds haha. Pretty enjoyable entry.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:26am

The music was nice! the story was fun and funny , the game was fun! Greta work! but u didnt manage to get all the bank gold :c lol

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]