December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Maverick

by Madball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You get only one man to bring the peace!
There is 2 endings to find. Enjoy!
#NoKill

Here is some help in case you have problems:
* Once you get a message "(I think I can go home and write a letter...)" you can go home and write a letter. But don't forget to save before you do it.
* You can understand how many points does a color give by a liking scale. It's something like ":) Red Green Yellow Blue :(". In this case red gives +2, green gives +1, yellow gives -1, blue gives -2. White is an unknown color.
* You discover likings by asking. You don't have to discover them all though.
* To get into the castle, you should be directed to either the minister or the king.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#183Audio3.16
#248Innovation3.28
#534Mood2.70
#559Humor2.11
#584Overall2.91
#663Fun2.63
#760Graphics2.38
#853Theme2.19

Comments

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

I really liked this one and tried to finish it. However I got stuck searching for the permit. I persuaded everyone and asked all the questions and there doesnt seem to be anything left to do.

I both liked the persuading and the asking mechanic, although both seemed a bit too random for my choice. And an option to rotate the tiles for persuasion would have made it a little bit more engaging.

Madball says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

I was afraid it's hard to understand...
@zorfmorf: have you tried entering the castle after you persuaded everyone? If you can't, you missed somebody.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I probably overlooked somebody as it prompted me to get a permit when trying to enter the castle. The city layout is a bit confusing. Great original game idea anyways!

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Haha cool. A good amount of content made over just 48 hours.

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Quite confusing, but amazing game and so much content.

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Woaw, that is a very unique game! It had a hard time understanding how to play at first (especially the asking minigame), but I understood it, I was hooked. Your gameplay ideas is very great! I like the music, and the backstory.

If you want to do a post-compo version, maybe a tutorial would help people understand how the minigames works (It took me a long time to figure out where to click in the asking minigame in order to only have one circle left). I'm amazed that you created so much content in such a short time. Congrats!

Azzar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:50pm

This game rocks!
Just got the bloody ending, gonna try and get another one.
The puzzles are engaging and challenging enough and the music is really nice.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I like the music, but it's a very confusing game as your "tutorial" is not very good.

Once you get the hang of it though, it's a really good game!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01pm

The concept is interesting and the realization is good, perhaps the progression is a bit too slow.

Photon says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:45am

I didn't quite get at first but then I managed to figure things out.

Cool puzzle idea; it is pretty neat, but it got pretty repetitive after awhile doing the same thing over and over again, not to mention it wasn't unusual for it to be next to impossible to continue on a puzzle without losing points.

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Really good idea! But it's hard to understand what to do with circles... I couldn't finish it)

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:46pm

A bit confused at the first time but pretty attractive game. You must improve the explanation of how it plays the game to help the player to make sense the game mechanics

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I like the multiples choices! The persuasion part coulb be better, however all is good!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Took a little while to realise what I was doing, however, once I got going it was quite enjoyable! I really like the asking/persuading system you have implemented!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Tutorial isn't be great, and game is hard to understand at the first time.
But overall good entry with lot of things to do ;)

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:37pm

amazingly good puzzle game but it is a little hard to understand at first. Music is nice and idea is sound. I dont see the theme but apart from that a verry well designed and implimented game.

sekaru says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:07am

I guess it seemed fun but really I had no idea what I was doing. Needs a better tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]