December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Cigarette

by Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Takes ~1 minute to load BFXR SFX on slow computers.

Controls:
---
KEYBOARD + MOUSE
WASD - Run
Click - Use Tool

NOTE: Not designed for a TOUCH PAD (kinda like most modern PC games ;)

You are a patriotic communist Russian waiting in line for cigarettes. You get to the front of the line to find they will only give you ONE cigarette.

The mission from there is obvious to any Smoker.. get more cigarettes at ANY cost. beg plead, or even take down the whole damn iron curtain if you have to!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Humor3.65
#65Theme3.77
#178Audio3.18
#179Graphics3.65
#218Mood3.22
#222Overall3.37
#317Fun3.15
#411Innovation3.03
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Could use more freedom.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

In communist Russia, there is no freedom!

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

The game actually has 100% freedom. You can walk where-ever you want!

Blupsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

That was pretty great. It just had a great feel to it and I certainly got a kick out of it.

flatgub says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really fun, but i noticed on my second play through the music only played in the right channel, not the left, so that was a little annoying, but the gameplay was solid and the idea was great. Also that poor hammer girl =(
-Flatgub

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Graphics are a bit choppy, and it was a bit hard to understand. But I got there in the end :) Very nice!

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

Faster ways to dismiss dialog would be appreciated. Awesome puzzle/shooter.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

ENDESGA: Perhaps your computer is running slow. There are over 100 frames on animation. Reboot and try again and re-rate it please.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

Really clever and original game! Although I do agree that that while very funny, the dialog needs to be skip-able (especially if you die).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

Cool graphics. Nice humor. The music is odd in that it's panned hard right, at least on my computer. It'd be nice if the dialogue bubbles could be insta-skipped so replays are less tedious. Shooting those guys is difficult :(

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46am

Pretty cool. A bit confusing in the beginning, didn't realise you click on the person behind the counter.

CrossBread says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

Good feel, decent graphics, dialog gave me a few chuckles. :-) My only issue was the speed of the hammer. It was easy to get knocked out of range while waiting for it to swing. The bullet loot pretty much made up for it though.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

CrossBread: Very much thanks for taking the time. You deserve a gold star for sticking with games for longer than 2 minutes. Not many here do that. Kudos and thank you again.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54am

I loved it! Managed to finish it too ;).

TheSnide says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I'm usually very bad at puzzles, so a little more directions would be nice, specially when struggling for a long time :-)

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:12pm

My computer doesn’t have a mouse wheel. Is there a way to bind the item selection to something else in addition to the mouse wheel?

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

SamH: Darn, you know I thought about it and just didn't get the time. It's not really very good with anything other than a mouse mouse. A track-pad would be tough to play with.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

SamH: Try AutoHotkey

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

First thing I did with the pistol, shoot the other guy in the face -> game over. So much fun. Great work.

EatThePath says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

Best use of the theme I've run into so far! My only real complaint about the game is that dialogue bubbles can extend off the screen and it feels like I might be missing some things as a result.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

A little bit glitchy, but quite good overall.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

ugggh, the dialouge!!!! Pretty cool other than that though. :)(

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:50am

About your comment in my game: there is a way to win. read the comments for more info, i think u'll like it :)
Your game rocks! I love how you matched the theme :)

Maple says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

At first I was getting nowhere but after a few tries I realised that there was far more to the game than at first would seem! After getting the machine gun and 2nd cigarette I tried to kill everyone to the right but had to leg it for a while. Ran to my death, like running along the beach at sunset. Beautiful. Also the girl could have been more attractive and less brutal. I'm glad they didn't hook up. Also, you can use your gun during the convo with her and she will still trade it for the hammer. Good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Looks nice, buts it's very slow to play.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Haha nice, love the style

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Cool game! The graphic style is great! :)
Cool and different idea and fun to play! Great job!


If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Haha that is awesome... cool idea... nice story... well created smoking animation :) I'm non smoker sice 4 month ^^

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39am

Cool idea, a little confusing.

Halfire says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50am

Pretty darn awesome,gave me a few chuckles in places, very well thought through :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:51am

Very funny and moody :) Congrats for this great game !

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54am

It'd been nice to be able to skip text!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Haha geeez, so fighting's pretty much useless huh? any special reward if you do actually manage to kill them all? :P Great game! Really funny, nice graphics, fits with the theme perfectly, and the combat was pretty good fun too.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Haha, great game! "Such friendly girl" xD I laughed so much at that lol. But anyways, couldn't finish it even after a lot of retries, always ran out of bullets and the hammer was useless against the pistols' impact that moves you away from the enemies. The cigarette even restored health though xD

Really had fun playing this!

Miltage says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Comrade have 'e' on end, comrade. Game good, need more vodka. I see if take smoke cigarette while walk, man begin slide. Is funny.

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

In Soviet Russia, Cigarette's smoke you!

I was looking forward for trying this ever since I've seen your smoking animation. Apart from the dialogue boxes which can't be skipped and take too much time, not much else to say but : I HATE YOU! I wanted to quit today, but after few minutes of being comrade player I'll just have to hit "save" button and then I'll go to buy more cigarettes :) (not that nicotinne starved and crazed by your game to actually get a gun and hunt other smokers in the streets :D)

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Kрасивая игра, товарищ!

One of the few games I really played for more than about 15 minutes. Really sweet artstyle and a crazy story. I ran out of bullets very soon and then ran all the way to the end, dodging bullets. Maybe a way to kill another enemy with the hammer would be nice (they are just too fast and turn around immediately, give the player half a second time to hit them or so, maybe adding a bonus achievement for killing EVERYONE with the hammer).

I enjoyed this game, one of my favorites!

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Oh. Bad encoding. That's supposed to read as "Krasivaya igra, tovarish!" in cyrillic. Just ignore ;-)

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Funny idea, and pleasing for eyes graphics ;) I like it! :D

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice Game! I like how you used the theme, I love the graphics, music, and your crazy humor! :)

Like many others, I'd like to be able to skip dialogs, especially the tutorial ones, because each time you die it's sooo long to be able to play again... But very good game overall!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Very funny idea and very fun game. Really enjoyed it.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very good use of the theme. (yes, you can manage to kill enemies with the hammer, you just have to be lucky or time it right)

ittlebit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Thats was funny. I enjoyed playing it.

turnA says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:19am

Love the art and story. Have problem with item scrolling on my trackpad :(

Suese says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:56pm

turnA: Yeah, it's probably not wise to judge games based on using a track-pad. Very few games are designed for the track-pad both LD and otherwise.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Really awesome. :)

steamgirl says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Very cool. The right kind of oppressive atmosphere, plenty of humour. I kept accidentally firing my one bullet... oops! Highly amusing. ^_^;

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Haha this is hilarious! xD

tnerb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice concept!

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Really a great game, but with two huge problems:
1) Mouse wheel to change items: I have a touchpad right now, it's super annoying and not precise.
2) Shooting bullets: There's a bug where the character seems to shot bullet at a random location, it's not convenient at all to kill all the bad guys :P

Apart from that, it was quite fun, well realized and it respects the theme!

I want to know how all of this ends!!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:26am

Funny concept!

tchem says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:34am

Awesome!!!,, nice work.... fantastic theme and gameplay!!!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice idea, but strange controls. I didn't get too far. Sometimes I didn't really understood what the game wanted to tell me.

Suese says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

@Everyone using a touch-pad... Really? C'mon, you wouldn't say this about an First Person Shooter. Most modern PC games are NOT designed for a touch pad. So If you rate my game based on the fact that you don't have the hardware required then you are sin-incarnate. THANK YOU :)

somepx says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Really enjoyed this entry, a great job overall! :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

I really enjoyed the game, particularly the mood. I did try it many times, but was not able to kill everyone, just kept missing with the hammer after running out of bullets. Really curious to see the ending, but retries are a bit painful due to inability to skip dialogue.

Tanser says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Cool game, amazing! But my mouse wheel wasn't scrolled on the dialog so it was really hard for me to figure out what to do in the beginning. I think it was like that because when the game was loading i might have scrolled to see if there is more to the page. :) All in all i really like it! Well done. :)

Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Looks very well done, took me some time to figure out what I was doing but worked it out in the end. Great work :P

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Loved it! Well done!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Hilariously fun game. Loved the fact that your character will literally do anything for more cigarettes (even murder his fellow comrade with a hammer).

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice game!
I like the running animation:D
Now I need a cigarette :P
Great work!

xrm0 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I like the graphics

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice graphics. I didn't really get what to do after I got a gun with one bullet. It would be better if the dialogue was skip-able.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Love the communist themes. Rated this very highly. :)

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I didn't quite understand the goal, but I really liked the style :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]