December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

This world is broken

by toaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore a broken, ZX Spectrum inspired world, with only a single ability: the wall jump.

Move with arrows and wall jump by pressing z while sliding on walls. You can use the arrows to move in the air after jumping.

Version 1.1: Tweaked difficulty in some levels, added titles, added background music, got rid of awful jumping sound effect.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#134Mood3.43
#142Innovation3.52
#158Overall3.50
#169Fun3.40
#217Graphics3.54
#356Theme3.14
#546Humor2.13
#661Audio2.08

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I <3 Spectrum! Game is hard, but rewarding. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Pretty fun platformer! I love that the game really looks like an old broken DOS game! =)

teuchito says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The game is getting laggy for me.

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I liked the level where you have to keep your clone alive. Also nice minimalistic art style.

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice game, very innovative gameplay. The jump sound getting duplicated by the clones wasn't very nice. Great art style.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Simple game with cool, moody graphics. Nice :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Cool graphics and the mechanic and its use is quite clever!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I really like this, awesome visuals and mechanic. The sound is quite intrusive and could use some music. Great job.

TFJO says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Very hard, but very fun too :)

One thing I noticed was that Level 3 (among the 10 or so I got to) was arguably the hardest for quite a while, almost made me quit, but didn't because, well, fun game :D

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Flawless game, really cool. It's a lot of fun.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44pm

One of the better games I've seen so far. Good premise, solid controls (all 3 buttons), and nice visual style. Difficulty curve shot up on level 6ish - the level with the floor you can get stuck on. I think it would be helpful if I could arrow in the direction I want to jump before pressing jump - maybe you "stick" to walls automatically, and then can jump off? Thanks for putting this together!

pusheax says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Solid, fun, challenging game.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:42pm

A fun game with a difficulty curve that hits you upside the face and then runs off laughing. With the graphics, style and gameplay it felt a little bit like a cross between VVVVVV and Super Meat Boy.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:33pm

A wall-jumper! Wall jumping has a special place in my heart. I enjoyed the visuals, but not the sound of the jump. I think its a really neat concept to have the main character unable to just jump.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:22am

a bit laggy, but i like this

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Pretty challenging game and nice take on the theme. Loved how you can only walljump.

Bernhard says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I like this. And I hate this >_< Damn Factory! HAH!
Cool and unique look and unique idea, too.

Knighty says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:57am

It's interesting to have a platformer where you can't jump normally.
Is it possible to beat the "But there is still hope" level, or is that the end?

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Challenging but also very innovative. I love the graphics style.

After the first and the second easy level, the third one was really hard.

toaster says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:03am

@Knighty No, that's the end.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:20am

Interesting mechanic and fun levels!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]