December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The dragon journey

by strong99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if there is only one road? Only one route you get? And it's guarded by a DRAGON? What if...

A web based game created in the InCourse GameCreator. It's the first time I, and the first time someone made such a big game in the newest InCourse Gamecreator.

The game runs on the latest browser versions with a framerate above 25. I recommend a framerate of 25 to play. If you experience any issues please note the browser and its version! Thank you, I'll look into it as quickly as possible.

More about the game or dare? Visit my live ludumdare weblog.
>> http://bit.ly/1hMfbY6/

----------- TROUBLESHOOTER ---------------
Those who have issues playing the game when they reach the start sign (especially OSX users). Try to play the fullscreen version (web) rather than the iframe (blog&info). It seems OSX prohibits some html5 audio actions inside an iframe. Tested it on a friend's MAC OSX lion (chrome and safari)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#184Graphics3.64
#347Mood2.98
#575Humor2.06
#652Audio2.12
#656Theme2.59
#776Overall2.66
#811Fun2.38
#936Innovation2.06

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56am

Can't play the game :/ It says only one way to get to the dragon in loop :(

Hope you can fix it, looks really nice overall =)

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

That's odd. Other players didn't say so. You can try clicking the star at the right top though. It skips the intro.

Otherwise, what browser are you using? Please let me know if you have any more issues.
Thanks for the compliment on the graphics!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Fun game and great graphics. I seemed to be able to fly? :D (dunno if that's intentional... useful!)

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

The Limbo style graphics are cool, even if pixelated sometimes. Some minor bugs in the jump and you can get out of the screen, but it as fun !

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Jumping is weird. Limbo style always does its job :D

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

On Chrome, I had issues playing it : lot of lag, and I loose abruptly, without knowing why. Seems like you have performance issues, because of the high graphical quality of the game. Very nice graphics indeed !

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The gameplay was a bit buggy, but the dragon and the rest of the graphics made up for it. Loved that dragon, very terrifying :D

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Thanks :) Jumping might be a bit off depending on the framerate as I tried to make it playable for low framerates too.
@plancien: You could try to make the game window smaller or use the smaller one on my blog ~600px wide. Or check if your chrome is up to date. When I play tested on my laptop I had to update my firefox to run smoothly.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really nice artwork. I was getting really bad frame-rate in Chrome, around 15 FPS. Jumping and gameplay itself didn't do much for me.

asimilon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

screen gloes blank white after going to the play sign (Chrome OSX Lion)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Gameplay seemed pretty solid. Graphics were nice too, considering the timescale. Were the grey patches representing being underground?

As others have said the jumping seems a little off, it double jumps sometimes too. Did die rather suddenly next to the switch, I guess the fire hit me, it just didn't look like it did.

Decent entry!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I had no problems playing. It was a run or die situation with the dragon, I really wanted to befriend it though :) Only problem is the small glitch with the jumping. And some gray areas I don't understand what they were. Maybe you will replace them with other graphics, like vines, water or sth?

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

The gray areas are underground or rather walled as you can't see the background moving like in the rest of the game. Thanks.

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36am

Really nice graphics and atmosphere !

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

Thanks nerial.
>>Those who have issues playing the game when they reach the start sign. Try to play the fullscreen version rather than the iframe. It seems OSX prohibits some actions. I tested it on a friend's MAC OSX lion (chrome and safari)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19am

Loving the visuals. Can't last very long running away from the dragon, though.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

Was the double jump intentional? Anyway great striking graphics, except for the player which seemed to be scaled up and blurry. Also a bit too easy, I got to the end without any problems, however the concept and mechanics are good and there's a real potential for a difficult game here!

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:40am

It's fairly nice, visuals are pretty good. Although the game is rather glitchy, sometimes you can make double jumps mid air.

It gains on its visual aspect, but drops a bit on gameplay due to the glitchiness of the jumping.

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Hey, try to download the flash or windows version
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31663
check my game too ;)


About your game, it is kinda cool because i love dragons, i have a dragon game for ouya too.

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

@juaxix You should have noted I rated that game three hours before you posted this ;) Nice you love dragons :) They're epic

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Owh did not leave a second/new comment... :P sorry

TaintedGear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Love the art style, very limbo esque. Had a few problems with the jumping. Really nice game.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48am

Well, it is not a very precise platformer. But still the idea is great, it needs more detailed physics.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:57am

Overall fun. Like the style. Like other users, I had a bit of lag in Chrome and sometimes (mainly in the beginning) I could go off the screen. And I like the double jump.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice style, jumping is a bit awkward.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I played the game in the latest Firefox(fullscreen mode) version and had some lag issues.

I liked the Limbo art style and the gameplay is fun.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Lots of collision glitches unfortunately take away most of the fun. Graphics are good though, although the character is upscaled too much I think, it's pixellated. Overall, decent entry!

strong99 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41am

@Diptoman Could you elaborate on the collision glitches? The only thing which is a bit off is the jumping mechanism.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:54am

Great graphics, very artistic, they create an excellent atmosphere.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Pretty fun - I liked the areas where you had to choose between underground/above ground. Jumping felt a little odd, but it was easy to control. Love the art!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Excellent mood, fabulous crisp and moody graphics - the silhouettes really work well and contrast with that flame. The difficulty was good, perhaps I could have handled it being a bit harder towards the end as I completed it first time. Some music would have been awesome as well, but a really nice entry - the intro set the scene really well too

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I like this game. The art is great, the dragon is well drawn and so are the trees... but you only use grey shades. It feels weird with the bright sky, however that makes a cool contrast between environment and the dragon flame/mouth. And I like how you use black for every foreground element : it really feels like the night when it's impossible to distinguish the player and the trees...

The physics are a little weird, it feels like you're hurting the ceiling every time you jump... The double jump is a cool feature, but not realistic : it's almost more powerful than the initial jump.

I wanted to finish the game but the framerate is bad, really bad, 15FPS all the time ! (I use Linux and don't have any problem with HTML5 games...), and it's really difficult to play... (I don't have a very powerful computer, maybe it's just me)

Overall, it really is a great game, with some little improvements it could be fantastic.
Congratulations !

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:59am

Pretty fun game. Really nice graphics!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:36am

This reminds me of one of the worst game I created called OMGAF Dragon!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:33am

... but yours is much better! (previous comment wasn't meant to be sound negative sorry ;-P).
Strong points of your games are graphics and mood.

strong99 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:05am

@jacklehamster: Thanks, I had a hard time understanding what you exactly meant :P But I figured something like this.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:20am

Looks great! Controls/Physics don't feel right, but I like it.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Unplayable on Pale Moon 24.2.2 (X64) because it jumped between 10 and 25 fps making the jumping completely irrational. Was able to play it on Chrome 31.0.1650.63 m though, but even there the game felt somewhat jerky. The jumping didn't feel right and there indeed were some collision glitches where I would walk against a block and be moved on top of it or could "climb walls" by jumping against them.

The graphics are mostly nice, but I didn't like the mixing of pixellated and fine sprites. Audio didn't add to the game all that much, even though the lightning-part was nicely done.

The basic concept is OK, but the gameplay could use a lot of fine-tuning.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Good gameplay! The jump is failed :( Funny story and great graphics!

garygreen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Really liked the graphic style and idea behind this game. Interesting to see another game creation tool too - I must check it out.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I'm a big fan of the art style in this game, really nice work for 48 hours! rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]