December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

By Your Command!

by creative630 - Jam Entry

This is my attempt for LD28. It was meant to be in the comp but I ran overtime, so its now entered into the Jam.

Premise:
Your ship narrowly escapes the destruction of your planet. The last survivors of your race are hastily packed onto the only available ship. It is now your task to survive.

Protect your ship from aliens. Replenish your survivors health from food dropped by aliens. Build new ships from resources gathered from asteroids.

Controls:
WSAD or Arrow keys - Thrusters
Mouse - Movement direction
Mouse Left button - Shoot

Tech:
Unity 4.3
Photoshop

Everything was made by me, Ryan Mazzolini :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#407Theme(Jam)2.35
#426Graphics(Jam)2.59
#495Overall(Jam)2.39
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00
#519Fun(Jam)1.89
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Awesome game. Orientation is a bit hard sometimes, so mostly you'll just fly forwards.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:02pm

So damn hard! Maybe tweak the balance a bit? Was very hard to avoid shots, I just wasn't fast enough. Cool idea though.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very strange control scheme.

havana24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:53am

Weird control scheme!
I think you should also rebalance the game... it's too hard! :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

Impossible until I figured out I had to get metal and make new ships, then still really hard but I started to get it.

jarnik says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:31am

After getting used to strafing to evade the shots, I've managed to survive for more than a few seconds. But I got surrounded after a while eventually :]
Nicely done controls and concept, I had fun!

MrBlade says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice game! Cool graphics, pretty solid mechanics, and good gameplay! I had pretty bad performance issues in online version, but once I downloaded it, it was fine! I feel like the controls could use some work as it took a long time to get used to how to move. Would have liked some sounds! Solid concept, cool take on the theme! Very well executed.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice shooter. I found that it controlled better if I just used the mouse to steer and the W key to move forward. It is really punishing once you get more than a few enemy ships shooting at you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]