December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Wish

by pusheax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pretty addictive dungeon-puzzle roguelike-like-like. Designed for 1 minute sessions.

Enemies one-shot you. When you reach zero energy you die. You can die when you destroy blocks or fall because you loose energy.

Controls: Arrow keys, Enter(wish screen)
Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/17/dungeon-generation-mechanics-postmortem/

Requirements:
Window size: 700x700
You need Java6+ installed.
Execute run.bat to run the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#477Mood2.79
#580Theme2.72
#661Audio2.08
#768Fun2.44
#772Graphics2.36
#786Innovation2.44
#788Overall2.64

Comments

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Couldn't open on OSX 10.9. Here's the stack trace: https://gist.github.com/SlyJack0/7992506

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

You got a lot of the elements of a roguelike implemented in 48h, well done!

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16pm

The wish only slightly postponed the inevitable. Makes me wish I could wish for three more wishes. Or one, to keep with the theme.

dstozek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great feel of the game, I also like the wish mechanic, but it is a bit confusing.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

From 10 games I rated, this is probably best one ^_^! One wish idea is awesome, just haven't found what "I don't want to die" actually does. Graphics nice, just die sound too loud... Bravo!

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07pm

it's a little bit buggy, cause you can walk outside of the map or something and it's kinda no fun to break a box and walk into it only to find that something kills you. maybe if you broke the box but remained in place? then you could move into the square, it just feels a bit unfair the way it is now. if that's whats going on, but other than that it's a fun little game. good job!

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

iamwhosiam: When you break the block you can fall down if pit is underneath. I totally agree that it should be an option. You should fall down only if you want.

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

NikinCZ: "I don't want to die" insta kills everyone on current level.

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Jago: Sorry about that. I will updat os/x archive with newer lwjgl(as it seems to solve the problem). Although I cannot test it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice concept on roguelike ;-) I like the theme usage here but I found it little chaotic overall (mainly because of tiles visibility). Good job

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

Pretty fun. I like the lighting effects.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Technically you've got everything down pretty well. A pretty nice dungeon crawler.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23pm

so awesome, i like this idea i think you do it very well good job!!!

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Could not run game on Windows 7

KEFIR says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:52pm

hey! I can suggest you to use JarSplice (http://ninjacave.com/jarsplice) to create all-in-one jar file (with natives inside) instead of using bat/shell scripts!

pusheax says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:09pm

KEFIR, thanks for suggestion. I will look into it.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:22am

great game , gratz :)

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:28am

Addicting and dangerous dungeon. It was weird to suicide when digging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]