December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Arrow

by bugninja - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ONE ARROW

You are trapped in an wooded arena, and you only get 1 arrow to survive against 100 zombies!

Written in Monkey: http://www.monkeycoder.co.nz/
Graphics made in Fireworks CS5

I have added the Windows build which seems to run the best, but distributing a game this way is new to me, so let me know if you experience any problems.

Use left and right arrows to rotate.
Up arrow moves forward. X or Control shoot your arrow.
The further away the enemy is when you shoot him, the more points you get.

Some known issues and/or bugs:

No sounds or music yet :( Shoot.
Collisions with objects don't feel perfect.
The enemies are complete idiots. But they are zombies, soooo
When you win, you just kinda win. Nothing happens. But congrats, and let me know your high score in the comments, would love to know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#189Theme3.47
#291Graphics3.33
#564Fun2.77
#590Overall2.90
#742Humor1.65
#746Innovation2.50
#811Audio1.12
#895Mood2.03

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31am

I dont know why but this game runs so bad. Always freezes for a split second. The score system in conjuction with arrows limitation feels very good though

icedmetal57 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33am

Really enjoyed the concept. Having only one arrow really makes you play tactfully, which is great. Gave it a 4/5.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35am

Fun but very difficult game. It's quite satisfying mowing down a row of zombies as you run through shooting... until you miss once. It took me a little while to realize I had to go out and find the zombies, but all in all, a fun game that would be worth working on further. Good job!

noobsticks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35am

The graphics are gorgeous. I like how you turned the YOGO mechanic into an ammo recovery mechanic. I felt that the gameplay gets monotonous, especially given that we have to kill 100 to win. Maybe different zombies, or more terrain features? Still, awesome! :)

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Perfect application of the theme! Well done!

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03am

I got horrible FPS and stutter. Not sure why, but it was unplayable :(

Crusable says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

I really didn't like the controls, that took a lot away from the fun.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15am

Thanks for the heads-up about the Flash version being too slow. I uploaded the HTML5 version which seems to run better in most browsers for me.

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33am

Pretty cool procedural generation of levels! 100 zombies was way too many for me to handle though. :P

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33am

Flash version runs super-slow, HTML5 one was much better.

The basic mechanic is really cool, and it works well with the randomly-generated levels. I wish zombie AI was a little smarter or more random. It's easy to get them into a big ball, and then just run in circles killing them. Also, zombies do not understand water.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:09pm

There are a 100 zombies just so you don't run out very quickly while trying to get a high score, but my son said the exact same thing, so if I go further, I'll have to figure that out. I also think BluShine is right that the zombies are basically idiots, really boring AI right now, but I have lots of ideas how I would like that to work, I just didn't have enough time during the compo. Submitted with minutes to spare :)

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

OK, dumped the Flash version completely, apparently it's just choppy for most people which ruins the game. HTML5 runs pretty nice tho. Still trying to build for Windows... not working yet. Thanks so much for everyone's feedback!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

my only complaints are the speed at which you rotate, and the lack of a tracer or crosshair or some indication of direction. the player icon leaves a lot up to chance. I enjoy the game over all; nicely done. :-)

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

No problems running it in browser.

Nice idea. Like the ammo recovery idea. Sounds would have made a big difference and more more frequent encounters with zombies - found it a little slow paced. But I really like the high score idea for more skillful play - good job!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

This is a tough game, and that's a compliment. It also looks nice and runs great. Getting swarmed was a pain in the ass because I'd have to run the zombies around in circles to get back to my arrow.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Totally dig the graphics, and fun to play!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I was surprised by this, I wasn't expecting it to be as fun as it was. It was very difficult, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I love the idea :D The arrow thing is amazing :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This is the second 'one arrow' game I've played this LD, but I think I prefer yours. :) Shame not to be able to walk backwards. Some interim fx would've been nice.

mobyvb says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

The art and random generation of levels is awesome.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I really like the idea of this and the visuals are cute. My only problem was the pacing, it was a little too slow and the controls were too cumbersome to play at any length. Perhaps consider Keyboard movement + Mouse aiming?

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

A little bit difficult. Really nice looking.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Pretty fun. Stay in the open space, don't miss!

Fenmar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I played your game and recorded it :-) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amwahYfh8c8

bugninja says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:10am

@Fenmar that is awesome! Thanks for letting me know about the video!

desmarkie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Tricky but fun. Nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]