December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gnome Hedge

by haveric - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Note: A couple people have mentioned that spacebar doesn't work. I think what is happening is that the item can't be used where you are at. It will only consume an item if it is used correctly. (Example: Sword can only be used when facing an enemy)

Escape from the hedge maze and avoid the gnomes. You only get one of each item/powerup to help you escape.

Tested with Firefox and Chrome. Other browsers may work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#413Humor2.44
#444Overall3.07
#484Theme2.90
#507Fun2.85
#556Innovation2.82
#699Mood2.47
#729Graphics2.46
#745Audio1.56

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Pretty fun game! Has a real bomberman vibe, which I like.

Kruithne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

The space-bar does not appear to work, makes things rather hard!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

I really liked the idea, but I think some mazes turned out impossible. The ladder was a very clever idea!

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

That was a very fun little puzzler game! Good use of theme.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

Interesting game! Had a hard time figuring out how to work the controls but thought it was fun!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Quite fun! Very cool :)

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Nice entry !

Need some polishing maybe (smooth anims, sfx) but for a ludum, it's still great :)

Letting the auto repeat key lead to fall of the bushes :(

Overall, I really liked this ! You really have to make a plan to use your items in the right order. The fact that the map is generated at random make it replayable, that's great !

wespaugh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Very much enjoyed! Doubly impressed if these maps were randomly generated.

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

I can't use the space bar, ive tried 1 to 4 to select but I just can't attack.. kinda hardcore this way

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Clever / fun idea! Definitely getting a nice bomberman vibe! Great work!

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15am

I like this, but I think I would have liked it more if it were turn based (i.e., the gnomes only move when you do). That, or if they moved a little bit slower. I got killed a few times just looking for the exit.

vinull says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Took a moment to get the hang of it, but once I did I really enjoyed it.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

I took a but to catch on, but it was fun after that.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11am

Ladder OP

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice idea, lots of fun but hard.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Quite enjoyed this, good work. I like that there's a ton of difficulties to choose from and the randomly generated mazes. Impressive for 48 hours. :)

veiadoida says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Fits the theme and it's well polished, but sometimes the level randomness doesn't give you a chance to think. For a 48h competition, it's really really great. Good job!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:53am

fun game, only in normal and easy because the ohter levels don't appear to be solvable... unfortunatly because this is a good concept!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:56am

well made, the professional looking menu and the game modes really give the game a polished feel

the ladder powerup to get on top of the maze is really original

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Nice concept, the difficulty of the randomly generated levels differed greatly.

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I had some issues with the controls on Chrome. SPACE didn't seem to always work. Otherwise the game seemed quite wonderful. :)

haveric says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:49pm

@Zuige As I noted above, I'm pretty sure this is the intended functionality. It will only let you use items if they can be used where you are facing. (Such as using a sword in front of an enemy or using a ladder in front of a hedge) Otherwise, you would waste the one use items by hitting space right away.

If this is not the case, let me know the situation you are trying as it may be a bug.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:20am

nicee haha

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:23am

too hard

foumart says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:54am

Great job for 48h!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]