December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Path

by postmodestie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An 'Action-Adventure' where you can jump-and-run on one procedurally generated path in both direction and meet people, which results in multiple-choice moral encounters that determine the outcome of the game. #NoKill #Potato

Controls

Move: Arrows + Space or adw

Answer: Keys 1 - 3 or Mouse

You can finish the game by either running, falling and tackling (= spending years), or by answering 13 questions.

Remember the One-Mindness! ;)

That's my first LD and i'm quite happy with the result.

Used Unity2D (+ iTween), Photoshop, Wacom Tablet, Audacity and a Tascam Audiorecorder.

Recorded my wife's voice and stories, as she is my star anyway. :)

Featuring characters of our Webcomic QuadCores.

P.s. the audio feedback for the answers is deceiving..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#320Humor2.69
#561Audio2.38
#665Graphics2.59
#717Innovation2.56
#750Mood2.39
#893Theme2.07
#926Fun2.09
#938Overall2.34

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

I had no idea what I was going for and doing but still finished the game.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

Weird little game... made me think. The collisions/momentum were very dodgy though. Still, I played to the end. The graphical style reminded me of the old Peanuts comic strip.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Your game was interesting. The controls where really spongy which made me fall down the holes a lot.
Some of the sound effects became a bit repetitive as well.
I'm not sure if there is a way to "win" your game, or if any of the quizes have an outcome on the end.
On the plus side you completed a game! Congrats!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Thanks to all for playing! The quizes influence the end result as you score higher and get a different evaluation in the end text.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Interesting little game :)
Very nice!

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Why, of course I am a genius. How very nice of you to point that out, Mr. Game :-P
I agree with Snail_Man. Dodgy, but enjoyable.

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Oh, and the Europe question? That was spot on :-P 3AM and work on Monday is not a good combo.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Your first thought of this game may be that it is weird - but life is probably still weirder than this. If anything, it's an amazing little experiment. Text goes off the screen a few times, though.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

The platforming controls are very shaky and I wasn't sure if the questions had right answers and how they affected the platforming sections. The graphics are unique and well done though.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

The controls are pretty weird and also the sounds, didn't know what i was doind xD.

smash ball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Well I had no clue what I was doing. However, it was fun in a weird way. The rest of what I want to say has already been said.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

haha first i was shockt from the audio, but then this guy makes : "dum dudu dum dududuu~ " I need to laugh so madly haha
And this kitten is so cute. But the jumping noises are afraiting me so much! SO MUCH! Thank you for sharing this game :)

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Years instead of HP is a great idea.
"You loose one year". Wow.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

i dont know if i was getting heavier the more i played or what.. gravity seemed to push down alot more heh.. good job :)

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Interesting method of delivering text content. Platforming segments often seemed unfair (those boulders!) but still within acceptable limits of playability.

Some of the questions/answers seemed maybe a bit preachy. . .

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Surreal! My first impression was annoyance at the movement, but the floaty platforming, the odd characters and the strange sounds actually kind of work together. The questions all being your own personal moral dilemmas at participating in Ludum Dare match my own thoughts, especially because I've just recovered from a bad post-LD migraine.

dudsen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Hey, the game suggested that I should be a teacher! Haha, what a horrible idea that would be! But I like the evaluation of the choices. The audio supports the feeling of the game pretty well. The jumping sound annoyed me after a while though and some answers are packed into a bit to much text for my taste. The blurry text in the beginning could be sharper by having a bigger font size, scaled down for your needs. Just my 2 cents, because I think its better to give some input for improvements.
Nevertheless, your wifes voice is charming :D

The style reminds me a bit of charlie brown. In a very light speed walk-ish year-consuming way ;P

Cool stuff, hope it was a good LD experience!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Pretty surreal. I especially liked, nay - loved, the sound effects.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I found very annoying to be killed while answering a question! Also, I didn't really know what I was doing, but I played it till the end :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

I always appreciate voiced sound effects!

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:37am

I uh... have no idea what's going on. Cool nonetheless

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:41am

The idea is interesting, and the audio e draws were nice.
But the jumping was weird, although I suspect that you wanted to have a surreal jump like that, soh that's fine.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Love the Peanut style, but i was struggling with the controls haha. Anyway, nice.

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

It's funny the things that always suffer in my games is the art, because I'm terrible at art. Your art is really really good, in all honesty though the rest of it is clunky. Keep at it though, I'm jealous of your art.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

The controls were a bit awkward but I like what you've done with this. Nice and thoughtful to play through though

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Cool, a little strange.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Strange but interesting game. Needs some work, such as people spawning in the ground). Cool concept though, good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:56am

Nice effort for 48hr. The movement/jumping physics need some work and polish. Loved the sound effects :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16am

Great sounds! Seriously! :D

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38am

The hand-drawn art was really unique, haven't seen it in this gamejam yet. I wish the story had more to do with the levels, it was a little confusing.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34am

It looks like Charlie Brown!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:18am

The main goal of this game is quite confusing, but overall nice platformer adventure. I like the sound effects lol

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:09am

It's a little confusing and controls are pretty awkward at first, but it's funny and I love the sounds effects!!! :D

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Interesting idea :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:04pm

What would be interesting is to take all the question answers and do some collaborative filtering and work out different archetypes in post-mortem right-up.

Of course, I answered fairly randomly just to mess that up if you do it. This is why on the internet you can't have nice things ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:58am

I'm not really sure... what. The jumping handled weird. Nice sound, but The wife thing was a bit... sickly sweet...

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:58am

Never really did get the objective of the game and jumping was a bit funny but I absolutely loved the art style.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:11am

Very unique art style. The game is odd, but is also very interesting.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:25am

Dat sounds effects :)
It's always great to have games with assets entirely made from scratch. It's making everything more authentic and fun.

"Que sera sera" -> "Qui vivra, verra" ?

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I had a lot of trouble wrestling with the controls. I probably spent half of all those years injured ;P Still, a good effort and the quizzes were pretty fun with some really weird answers.

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:23pm

What the... I don't even...

I dig the hand-drawn art, but I have no idea whats going on :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:05am

The controls for movement were quite loose whereas the jumping was a bit heavy.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Finished it, but it was quite confusing.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I not understanding the rules...

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:50am

Strangely intriguing. Though this needed more work, the monochrome lines and the sfx made the atmosphere really great.

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:28am

Somehow reminds me of 'Peanuts'. B/W is an interesting choice, original sounds... weird and fun

jamiedoughty says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:45am

I love your style. Was compelled to keep playing till the end.

bitserum says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:40pm

This was a weird experience (in a good sort of way), the controls were damn awfull, but I guess that sort of illustrates how life is mutable and hard to navigate. So I guess it's good? I don't know, I just know I liked it.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:50pm

The platforming controls really need to be better :) I could not finish the game, I was too frustrated by the controls of the game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:33am

Philosophical.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:26am

graphics sucky, jumo=ping to then slam to the ground, sucky, no idea what to do, sucky, ill still give an overall, congrats on posting your game at least

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I found the controls really hard to handle, or rather the controls in combination with the physics on the main character. Some of the answers were partially outside the visible area in the web player. Sound effects were really nice though.

michail says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I've played to the end, but I had no idea what I am doing most of the time. Probably just not my kind of game.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

wat...

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

Perhaps nice idea, but need polishing.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Interesting take on the theme.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Strange but good game!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Whadda heck did I just play! :D

Audio was nice (although bit repetitive) and well... controls were bit dodgy.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Thats a nice game!
The movement is a bit quirky and the game could use some kind of story/goal, but the graphics are nice and the questions are funny ;)
Nice work!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

That was weird. If the controls were better I could say weird is good, but that way it was kind of akward. I did enjoy the questions though, but Answers were quite long.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:49am

Hah this is pretty fun. Great graphics and interesting plot. I liked it a lot.

Sebastian says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:23pm

"Your wisdom is deep and your spirit light". Sounds like me haha ;)
Interesting game, I had some overlapping text with the carrying books question, and more grammar/spelling mistakes than I care to count, but I thought it was a pretty cool experience overall. Very wacky, but very intriguing!

ashen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:55am

Probably the most "interesting" sound effects for a game this compo. Platforming controls were a bit awkward in places but the multiple choice questions added a lot of originality.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Lovely art! very weird and very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]