December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Pot

by Defräg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a experimental game where all player control one game for each other.

The objective is to wait as long as possible but to still grab the gold before anyone else does.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#64Innovation3.78
#431Theme3.00
#935Overall2.35
#978Graphics1.53
#981Fun1.81
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56am

Very interesting concept! I'll be keeping an eye on this over the days ahead to see how big that pot grows...

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03am

This is interesting in terms of game theory. Every moment you wait increases your potential payoff exponentially, but people can take the pot from underneath you while you wait, leaving you with nothing. Would obviously be more interesting if there were a way to get real money involved. (Everyone pays in an equal amount at the start in to a fund which gets split among the players in he same ratio as the gold, maybe.)

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04am

That's really rather clever. On the other hand, that's really all there is to it. "oh that's clever", and then you close the tab.

Sure you could "play" it, but the fun really lies in the idea, at least for me, and not actually interacting with the game itself.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04am

Cool idea! Very nice demonstration of risk vs. reward vs. patience, well done!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17am

Reminds me of trying to decide when to sell my bitcoins!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

crazy...so much win. so crazy idea, i dont turn off my pc for take more gold hahaha :D Good job.

havana24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50am

Patience versus Risk... Who will win? :)
Cool idea!

Tanser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Cool!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:35pm

If you're in the lead then constant clicking locks down other players.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:37pm

ooooooo..........kkkkkkkk........

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I love how simple this game is, but yet so much fun. It's kind of exciting waiting for the pot to grow

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:05am

Interesting concept but you may need to do something along the way to keep people invested. Ether way an interesting idea for a social experiment.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]