December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Arrow Arena

by @Micle2000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare Entry!

The premise is you're an archer with only one arrow! Monsters/chickens are attacking you and you must defend yourself.

Written in Javascript using the HTML5 <canvas> and <audio> elements.

Software:
Notepad ++
Audacity
AESprite

Music (and most sounds) were all played on my guitar:
Eppiphone Les Paul -> ZVEX Mastotron -> Vox AC30


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Theme3.79
#240Humor2.94
#432Audio2.65
#524Fun2.83
#694Innovation2.59
#702Overall2.76
#744Mood2.40
#903Graphics2.04
#965Coolness49%

Comments

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Good job finishing a game!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nice idea :)

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45am

The only thing I'm disappointed about is that I couldn't fling a head at anyone! Cool concept.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

haha thanks oldmanbiles that's an awesome comment!

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30am

Cool concept. Dangerous ducks.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

It was pretty hard... I didnt like that the chickens could kill you after you shot them. But it was fun overall!

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good job. I found this to be really entertaining.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

I've seen this idea from someone else today, but they did zombies. Chickens are better, especially when they're running about sans head. The sound was a little repetitive though.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52am

I really like the concept!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

This needs more content! It's an awesome game, would have loved to play more!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Silly, stupid fun. The enemies are a bit too relentless in their pursuit.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:32am

Never thought I would be killed by headless chicken, not even in game! :-D

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15am

This such a simple idea/game yet it's so addicting and fun I could stop playing it. It felt a little bit like dark souls that frustrating task of what happens next first it was oh chickens can kill me after they're dead then it was oh god a snake then it was the knight and trying to figure out the portal, such a good game. mad props!

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I died? To a headless chicken? For that, I salute you. Nice basic concept.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:44am

lol, nice game

GagaPete says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:52pm

A solid basis. A little bit to hard for me though. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]