December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies... ON CHRISTMAS

by Blinked - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The year is 2043, and it is Christmas Eve. You are a survivor, and just want to enjoy the day tomorrow... But those damn Zombies just won't leave you alone. In order to protect your only Christmas tree, you must kill them all, before they ruin Christmas.

CONTROLS:
WASD - Move
Mouse - Aim
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Hold Shift - Run

TIP:
Search the map for powerups between zombie waves, they can increase your score, and give you new weapons.
---

Linux version may have issues, I have no way of testing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#210Mood3.24
#226Audio3.05
#241Fun3.27
#301Humor2.75
#339Overall3.20
#421Graphics3.07
#613Theme2.66
#931Innovation2.07

Comments

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

NOOOO, not on Christmas!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Solid game!^^

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

el argumento es un poco extraño, pero el juego es divertido

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Poor tree T____T Mood 5/5

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

Great game. I love how you made it so you needed to search for weapons and power ups, that way the player won't just sit there and shoot. The movement and shooting felt very fluid. And i loved the music.

bernard1998 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04am

Simple yet sufficient. Smooth game-play and a catchy soundtrack.A little challenging at first but easy after you get the hang of it. Balanced.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54am

Simple but effective twin stick shooter, nice level of polish, great work!

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:50pm

It was a bit surprising to find out the zombies didn't care at all if I put myself in the way of there progress towards the tree, but then I figured it could actually make for a nice aspect of the mechanic -- shoot and block.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Too clasic, but i have a good time

joekinley says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Funny how we both had the same idea for this theme. I made a twin stick shooter myself and it's fun to compare yours to mine.
Good job on the graphics and audio. I liked the overall feel of the game, and the execution.
It was hard to fit this kinda game into a theme, so can't say too much about that.

Other than that it was fun to play and to see it.

sprawl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:04am

34.5k points ! I think it's a nice touch that you can go and get points on the edges of the map. The game is fun and completed.

The music is GREAT !

Tanser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Well done! :) I suggest adding collision for the bullets with the tree :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:42am

I really like the music, and the lighting was cool (particularly for finding my tree again). I felt like it could have been a bit more varied between the waves, but then I guess that's just the time constraint hitting you.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Loved the lighting effects and the mechanic of having to go out and scavenge to increase your power. Liked the emergent mechanic of how important prioritizing targets were. Overall really fun game. Great job!

Ismei says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Oh no! Christmas is ruined! I enjoyed this game, with the breaks in between waves to rush out and find things.

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

very nice!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I liked the game if I though the three to be a fruit three!

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I liked the lighting..
It feels like it needs something to prevent permanent running, otherwise there is not really a need for the two movement speeds...

Dynad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great idea, although it would have been better if there was some kind if collision on the tree so you need to move around.. now I can just stand still and shoot :P

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Awesome! 5* in fun and overall!

My one beef is that the chaingun is underpowered. I felt like I was better off with the shotgun.

But the game is really fun yet simple. The holy grail of LD. Kudos!

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Fun cristmas game. Music and lighting was verry effective, and the idea is fun. 21300 was my best score

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]