December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You can become only one!!1

by multikorv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A math puzzle game.
I only had about 24h, so I'm reasonably happy.

TODO: More (and harder) levels! Some shading and materials, graphics in general. Sfx.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Innovation3.98
#76Theme3.73
#268Overall3.29
#275Fun3.21
#537Audio2.42
#653Humor1.91
#741Mood2.41
#953Graphics1.84

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Enormous concept! It's really awesome!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I like the idea of using Maths in a game (I don't see many) and I thought you implemented it really well. Well done :D

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Cool concept and fun gameplay!

Rhinan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Oh, shit this is amazing! Lovely concept!!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Brilliant game. Expertly designed tutorial. I love this! Minor critique, would have preferred "enter" as the restart level command on failure to match the key used to move on to the next level.

sprawl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I love it. Fits the theme really well and is actually quite fun !

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

You have used math to your advantage and you have done well, Nice efforts.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great Job. It is something you don't see very often.

Side Note: Since you used Unity I would suggest exporting a Linux build. The Webplayer does not work on Linux Machines.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very concept i love it, enjoyable and you use your brain for a bit.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Nice concept! should be in an educational game. fun :). Maybe keep the game music going constant instead of restarting it every level.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really neat idea, I could see this being used as an educational game some day!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I love the idea of this game! I would like to see more levels requiring planning as to which gates to pass through to become 1. Can the game not fit on one screen? Then I think it would be more of a puzzle game. As it is now it has the inklings of exploration as well. Good job.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

loved it. The idea is fresh. But why the 3rd level keep restating :)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Awesome new concept for a puzzle game. Game itself is well made and solid aswell. Good job!

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

@LastResortGames Yes! I will do that, thanks!

Kane says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Fun concept, gameplay very smooth,
maybe the (de)zoom part a little slow.
I look forward the new set of levels!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I don't why but this makes me feel like if running man was crossed with mathletes. I must math for my life! Nice Work.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Interesting idea. Found the music to be way too loud. Levels were easy and just when they started requiring some thought the last level started repeating. Still, a lot of potential.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Good concept, and I really like the way you get pushed through the gates.

It would be better if space/enter made you restart level if you were dead or more you the next level if you died.

An end screen would be good though.

mboaj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice idea. You definitively get only one :)

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Really cool concept, I wish it started zoomed out though. I'm not sure I got to the end of the game or not, but when I complete the level where you start out as 39, I get brought to the start of that level again.

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:16am

Great concept! Too bad there aren't more levels (the level with 39 is the last one, right?)

walaber says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:20am

really clever concept! I would love to see this expanded more!

drentsoft says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:18am

Ah yeah it is kinda similar to my game (this one http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=28854 ). Funnily the concept of the answer always being 1 was one variation on my game at the very start. I like it :)

lilinx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:28am

excellent idea, very inspiring

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:34am

Really great concept, a perfect fit for the theme!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:48am

Innovation/Fun/Theme = super! That's an awesome game!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02pm

One of the more unique takes on the theme. Makes for some clever maths puzzles, I like it!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I see, I have to be an integer to pass, huh? That's what I call discrimination of floating point numbers!
But seriously, very cool concept and pretty well done for 24 hours. Assuming you'd have had another 24 to add better visuals and more levels, this would surely be among the top games from this LD. This way it's a very rough but promising prototype with quite some potential. :)
(But seriously, you really could have picked other colors... black, green, pink and light blue?! :D)

multikorv says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Yes, the map starting with you as 39 is the last one. It was kind of tight so I didn't have time to indicate that properly.

multikorv says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:37pm

@ShellfishGames Oh yeah, the colors was not selected because of their beauty. ;) Of course, working on a post-ludum version of this game now for phones and tablets and it will have a bit more polished graphical style.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:51am

The concept is great, I'd love to see more levels! :)

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:40am

Very neat concept! Zoom was a little slow and an "ending" would have been nice though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]