Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fountain - Terry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little game that I've wanted to get out of my head for a long time.

View Terry's journal. | View all entries by Terry

Ratings

Coolness56%
#12Mood4.13
#46Audio3.65
#66Innovation3.77
#75Theme3.74
#102Overall3.66
#244Graphics3.45
#515Fun2.84
#649Humor1.92

Comments

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Interesting concept here!

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Really love the twist on the theme! Didn't see it coming from the start.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Great concept, extremely clever. I noticed the audio changes too, very cool.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25am

Really loved the concept!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Ok, this is ace! Subtle color & audio change are really nice touches, 'Maestro' :D

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36am

What can I say. Just lovely.

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Great game, took me a while to figure out how it fitted in with the theme, but I love the concept, great job.

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Great visual effects. But sometimes it is going to end so unexpected.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Really enjoyed this. Great concept. Glad you got it out of there :)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Living forever is really hard apparently. Well, "living". Nice take on the theme!

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I feel kind of sad :(

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I really like the mechanics, the sound, the graphics, and the mood. The way the pallet changes is very cool. Unfortunately, I didn't find it fun to play. Having to keep returning to the fountain is frustrating, especially in a game that makes the player want to explore.

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

wonderful experience, really nice execution. I love how you represented the theme :)

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Well executed, really neat idea ! I love the concept and how it relates to the theme.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Brillant! Reminded me of Passage, but still very different. Best entry played so far.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

3deep5me! Awesome work, Terry.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great Concept

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Interesting mechanic. It made you want to explore but it limited you which was a cool thing to battle with. Nice idea and great mood.

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Disturbing mood. The audio experience is kinda like X-COM. I like.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I got the concept immediately, and what a great concept it is. But my goals were not very clear. While the tantalizing glimpses of other areas kept me coming back after dying, it eventually became too cumbersome to start over.

So then: mission accomplished. =)

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice idea and great atmosphere. The music really adds to the mood. It was very frustrating trying to explore while worrying about making it back, but I'm guessing that was intended. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Really nice concept, I love it!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

I'm not so sure I've understood the game. There's no way to collect all items, right? And for some reason I have the ability to die just a few squares away from the fountain.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

I love the way things change when she starts to get older. I kept exploring a little, then running back to the fountain to 'replenish'. After a few times of doing that, it felt like she started aging more rapidly. Nice touch! I wasn't exactly sure what I was supposed to be doing, but it was still quite fun exploring.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

Incredibly concise idea that turns out to be a sophisticated take on the age old question of "is immortality worth it?" The subtle audio and visual changes that come with age, and the desperate struggle for that one last tile to get to the fountain before death really stick with me. Fantastic job.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

Quite an interesting game.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06am

Wow, I didn't know you would making a game for this Ludum Dare.

I liked the concept and the ideas you wanted to express in "Fountain", but gameplay is way too much frustrating. Nobody likes backtracking, it's like:

"Sure, I'm getting old, I could return to the fountain or keep exploring. Exploring is exciting because you discover great stuff and going back to the fountain and here again is boring, is not a challenge, I've done it and I could do it again"

I get that backtracking is part of expressing the idea, but I think it adds too little to the game(gameplay wise) compared to how frustrating makes it.

SuperHexagon was one of the hardest things I've played in my life, I loved it because it was a challenge and you designed it so it wouldn't be frustrating. Maybe that's what happens with "Fountain"'s design, it needs to challenge the player with something else that's not time management, it's hard to know.

Anyways, sometimes you just want to make a game about a thought you had and you just want to create it without caring about other details.

Hoping to see more games from you soon!

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19am

My world was littered with corpses before I realized the title. Good game. Made me think/sad.

Ysty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Loved the aesthetic and a great use of the theme. Very oppressive mood.

Maple says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

This would have been great, but you die so quickly -- You barely have enough time to get back to the fountain after collecting each thing, meaning you pretty much need to know exactly how to get back each time. The concept you have is pretty awesome, and I love exploration games, but I think this would work a whole lot better if it was slower paced. Great job.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Don't know why but this scared the shit out of me :|
Great game, loved the little details.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Haha pretty funny when you get old and slow. Interesting concept. Not sure what the goal was though. I did find some treasure or something and a key.

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32pm

One time I got 2.
Another time I was chilling near the fountain with 1.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Awesome. Reminds me of my life, except for the whole Fountain of Youth part. :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice!

FelixNemis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very nice game, graphics are great, music is pretty good. Very nice mood. Clever take on the theme. This is actually one of only a few LD games that I vote N/A for humor on.
Good luck and keep at it!
p.s. I'll beat hyper hexagonest one of these days

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Great atmosphere and nice way of "showing things" just through gameplay.

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:57am

As small and simple as it seems to be, I always like games with a focus on looking around.

Cory Martin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:57am

terry (:

Cory Martin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01am

Pretty cool ambiance. The world's so interesting to explore that I never make it back to the fountain Good stuff!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Great game with a great mood.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Love it!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Ggreat exploration of the theme, and nice touch with the fountain gimmick.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:41pm

A sophisticated game, full of possibilities. Of which I got 3 ^o^// Nice how succinctly you were able to express the concept, and you nailed the theme without needing to name your game "You Only Get One Fountain" or something.

The fountain itself kind of looks like Marvin the Martian. Is that just me?

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:11pm

An extremely melancholic use of the theme. I enjoyed it, and those Spectrum-ass graphics were really refreshing :)

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38pm

The sound does it for me in this. Very... ominous. Nice one

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02am

Nice, wasn't sure on how to play, but the concept is cool, I never once found my way back to the fountain though. :(

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:29am

I can only echo what others have said. It was an awesome idea which had great audio, great visuals and a very cool take on the theme. BUT... sadly I didn't find it fun. I really wanted too, but I felt like I was being punished for exploring. If I went too far I wouldn't be able to make it back to the fountain in time and I would die... yet if I stayed near the fountain there really wasn't much to do. Definitely makes you think. But like they say, you can't have your cake and eat it too ;)

irma vep says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:01am

Great idea! I like the sound and the graphics most. And this special mood. AND how you formed the theme :)

tchem says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Beautiful!!! simple, immersive and unique.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Great Game. I like the way the world changes when you get older.

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Who cares about how fun or frustrating it gets?
Eventually everybody leaves the garden unexplored, get over it! Thank you for this game.

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:03am

Excelent mood.

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:05am

Beautiful. I wonder what are those treasure-like things?

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Very intense game, especially the first time i stumbled over my own remains. Very nice!

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really well done and really difficult. Love the twist of adding your past lives where you died.

Blue Glaucus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02am

Clever use of the theme. It took me a few plays to understand what was going on.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:42am

This was a fun game to struggle with.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:38am

Strega:
Nice use of subtle graphic changes to indicate the passage of time and aging. I liked that you conveyed the message of the game the gameplay itself.

(This is a team account)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:22am

Charming but too much minimalist to justify investing time to finish it :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:48am

thought-provoking and touching. your game connects to the theme on so many layers.

spoilers:
in the end i just stood there next to the fountain, wanting to collect all the things, but knowing that if i stepped away from the fountain i would soon die. forever young, but with no purpose.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Interesting and atmospheric game. Could have more interaction.

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Sublime... as usual.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I'm getting strong Passage vibes from this one, Mr. Cavanagh. I do love it, though, when small game worlds feel massive.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Very good, especially the sound. But I only got two.. :(

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:51am

It feels so sad.
And was it just me, or did the fountain get weaker and weaker every time I used it?

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:05am

Great take on the theme. I wish there was a bit more clarity as to what those objects were that I picked up, but it could just be that I didn't get far enough. The audio and visuals really worked well together on this to build up the mood. The color changes in the world were really effective.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:58am

Interesting. I was able to find about 11 unique items, I think, though I only managed to get 4 simultaneously. I tended to just do long suicide runs to explore the map rather than make multiple trips back to the fountain.

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:44am

The concept is great, however (and maybe it was a bug or me not finding the right way to go) you get to lose pretty fast if you don't do frequent round-trips to the fountain.
This limits the exploration time a bit too drastically, removing somehow the fun of the game.
The game itself is very polished: change in aspect, music and therefore global atmosphere as long as we age... great mood!

Congratz Terry =)

samooJAM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:58am

Quite challenging :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Moody and atmospheric, cracking graphics and real charm. Actually quite haunting, especially with that soundtrack and the gradually draining colours. I found it a little difficult to empathise with the player character, but perhaps the mysterious aspect was the point...

zzzev says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Fantastic, with a ton to explore and see. The little things like the audio and visual changes as the character ages add a lot to the experience.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I like the idea and what the concept expresses (if my interpretation is correct). Not necessarily a "fun" game, but certainly an interest experience for what concerns me.

Incredibly well fitting with "You only get one".

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I loved this. It was beautiful, really interesting take on the theme too. Reminds me a little bit of Passage by Jason Rohrer. Rated highly.

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:39am

Played it for far longer than I expected, touched and horrified at the same time. Excellent little game.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I liked the concept and the atmosphere (credits to the music and visual effects) but something in the gameplay didn't work for me - maybe the difficulty in knowing if you have time to come back - and it couldn't keep me hooked for long.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice color changes

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:50am

The way the world desaturates as you age is powerful. It also makes the glitchy maze impossible! Brutally hard and very poignant.

dudsen says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hm. Don't know how I feel about this one. Pretty brutal punishing of the player.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The grass was greener
The light was brighter
With friends surrounded
The nights of wonder

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:27am

Wow, Terry. You have a unique gift for realizing an idea in all aspects of execution. That said, it is of course a bit frustrating to play a game that is designed to thwart completion. I do realize that is part of the point. :) Gameplay is a little unclear though - there is no indication of anything to collect and I didn't realize there was anything out there until I read the comments. Then again it could be argued that there is purposefully no goal.

goerp says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The mood is well set by the gameplay and music.
With the title as it is, the aging process was easily understood.
The game got pretty hard when aging because not only would the path become unclear but quite suddenly your movement would slow down to a crawl. I've played VVVVV, so I can imagine that you meant the game to be hard.
But the purpose, goal, mechanics and other was not so clear and in this game I got a bit too little in return for my exploration to keep me curious. When I did find something it disappeared and I didn't have a clue if it did anything, changed anything.
I can imagine that with a bit more work it can really be journey of discovery and wonder.

joekinglake says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Great idea, liked the interpretation of the theme. Reminiscent of Passage. Nice job here!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I saw this in a recommendation, and, what can I say? Every word is true. Great graphics (remind me of early Zelda), beautiful music. I like how you've shown the character's aging: not only in the character sprite, but also in landscape colour washing out and the music going away. The speeded-up aging makes a lot of sense and is a nice challenge. I can't really say much about it, it would dilute the experience.

I have no idea whether it's winnable, but I'll be coming back to this one after voting has ended.

I think I'll wrap up my voting here and end this LD on a high note.

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow, great use of the theme. The audio and visual cues add a really nice touch! Reminds me of a slowing heartbeat, which may have been the intention? Overall a really good game, it accomplishes a lot with very little.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:47pm

i love the concept of fading the environment over time as you lose health, great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]