December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dunkra

by MemoryLeek - Jam Entry

This is a futuristic sci-fi dungeon crawler with pseudo-random level generation. It started out as a very ambitious idea, much of which we didn't have enough time to implement.

Stuff that works:
- Single player vs. multiple bots, can shoot and kill eachother
- Bot A* pathfinding
- Physics engine
- Random world generation from a set collection of rooms
- Interactable objects (chests give HP, doors can be opened)
- Gamepad controls

Stuff we had planned but didn't have time for:
- Local 2-player co-op
- Different types of enemies
- More weapons and equipment
- Progression/upgrade system
- Explosions, grenades and stuff like that, with pushback effect (using Box2D)
- Menu and control remapping

Known bugs:
- On rare occations the generated rooms will intersect and you will be unable to move, if this happens to you, just restart the game
- You can walk through room doors even if there's no attached room on the other side

Our plan for this theme was that as you progressed through the dungeon, you would hit checkpoints or mini-bosses, after which you would be able to choose to upgrade a single one of your available items/weapons. But since we ran out of time we went with emergency plan B, that you only get one life/chance. When you die the game exits and you never get to play that exact dungeon again.

There's no win condition currently in the game, if you've killed all the bots you're done, but no event or win screen will show up.

Keyboard controls are:
W/A/S/D - movement
Mouse - look
Left mouse button - fire/interact

Gamepad controls are (for 360 controller):
LS - look + movement
A - fire/interact

It's available for download on Linux (64-bit), Windows and OS X. It should work on any system since we bundle all the required libs, though on OS X you have to launch the game from a terminal since it seems to do something weird with the working directory otherwise and not find the dylibs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1456Coolness30%

Comments

LexGarza says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The movement was a little weird, you get used to it fast, but when near enemies it becomes complicated to move as you would like. Maybe some more monster density would have helped too.

By the way, couldn't download it directly through the windows options, had to go through drive.

rojo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:47am

Hey not bad. I enjoyed the control scheme. I think a music track would have gone a long way, but I know that feel when you have to start cutting features for time. I had to do the same for my game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Good to see co-op in LD games.
Nice style..
Even though it might be a bit similar colors, at least the part I played.

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Can't run this on Linux. It requires libGlew 1.10. My system (12.04) only has 1.6.

Toby Simone says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Good concept, but the control scheme really killed it for me. I just couldn't adapt to it quickly enough, and the rest of the game suffered for it.

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Controls felt a little strange, like I would sometimes stop moving when near walls. It ended up being really, really difficult. Also, having WASD be attack and arrows be movement felt really weird, as most games I've played with a similar setup use the reverse.

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Oops, disregard that comment, sorry - it was meant for another game (luckily I didn't submit it with the rating function!).

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Feels a bit empty, but nice concept thought

f7f5 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I also have a libGLEW issue. Fedora 19 has version 1.9.

Croze says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Good game, could be cool if you add an objective. You may want to increase the enemy's attack range because on high resolution monitors you can just make the game full screen and see and be able to shoot the monsters before they even see you

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:53am

I like the art even if its simple i like it idk why LOL :D Well the game feels kind of hard for me since im normally using the WASD Keys to move and mouse to just rotate, but its ok :D also the enemys should track you farther or depending on the screen size. Great work on the game :D

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:12am

Was actually kind of interesting for a little while.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]