December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beep Boop. Where will it go?

by PapyPilgrim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little puzzle-game, you have to find your way through the room and reach the green zone.


--------------
Known problems
--------------
- In rare occasions, you may notice collision bugs when the game is running at high speed. This is a quality of life feature that has not been fully tested/debugged.
- I have a memory leack somewhere. If you run into performance issues, pressing escape (which send you back to the selection screen) will solve the problem


-----------
Tools Used
-----------
FlashDevelop - flixel
paint
Audacity

-----------
Misc
-----------
- I made all the sounds using http://www.inudge.net
- I will just put that here, in case someone had this particular problem : If you wish to recored your audio output on windows, you need to activate your "stereo mix" recording device and set it as default. you also need to UNPLUG every audio output you might have, except the jack on the back of your computer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#64Audio3.57
#146Mood3.39
#152Fun3.44
#171Overall3.47
#197Innovation3.41
#311Theme3.21
#569Graphics2.79

Comments

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14am

Love it!

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

To be more specific, I think the puzzles are very well-designed and fun to play through. Haven't finished them all yet, but it seems quite deep so far!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

That was really neat! Great work!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

nice, got to level 8 in the end. like the suble music generated by the random notes when the arrows touched something, great idea!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Very nice! I really enjoyed it. Great puzzler - you should keep developing it.

Miltage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13pm

This game is simple, but executed really well. I love the subtle tiling effects. I'm still laughing at the title though.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

I actually really enjoyed this game.

Unsure as to how the speed affects anything apart from making it less tedious to watch through.

Also took me a little while to spot the 'direction' arrows on the triangles.

I really loved the sounds though, I'm going to keep playing!

mdelally says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Simple. Charming. A blast to play - really enjoyed it!

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I really like the simplicity in design, and the great amount of gameplay fexibility created by it. You have built great puzzles!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Umm, am I the only one who notices that alot of the puzzles are the same thing just with more things in it? I mean it would be fine if the answer wasn't always the same.

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

@WojWorks : I consider the first 10 levels to be the tutorial and I didn't wanted the players to reprocess the "flow" of a level at every step. I actually took great care not to have multiple solutions for a level, or the same solution in consecutive levels (EXCEPT in those first 10 levels )

So yes, the solution to level 8 is also a solution to levels 4-5-6-7. I thought it was the less obvious one. Same goes for level 9 and 10.

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Yeah! i love this game, the best of this LD :D

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nicely done.

the difficulty curve is nice.

khahem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Well designed puzzle, I really like the calm sounds and tile effect.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Lovely sounds, and a pretty nice puzzler.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:08am

A good game, but a bit too difficult at times.

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Really nice, relaxing mood and sound effects. A few levels in a row seemed to have the exact same solution though, unless I was missing something...

walaber says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:14am

nice work. simple concept but cleanly executed.

Split82 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

One of my favorite games in this LD. Nice work.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

quite nice game! i liked the audio and the graphics, but this kind of games break my brain :)

Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice puzzle game! It took me a little while to realise what I had to do. I could use the same solution for many of the first levels... The sounds are very nice. :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:26am

Very nice puzzle game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great atmosphere. Nice and soothing.

foumart says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Quite interesting game with pleasant music/sound and mood. Very relaxing. Reached level 12 where the new color elements felt kind of ineffective for me. There ware also some derivative levels around 5-7 with identical solutions. In my oppinion more compact level design with increased puzzle strain will be better, but for a 48h game it's impressive!

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Great atmosphere, audio and concept. I enjoyed playing it and managed to get to level 13, but I didn't like that some puzzles in the beginning have the same solution. I wonder if it's possible to come up with good puzzles at a smaller level size, because the levels seem a bit big to me. Overall a good game.

cesisco says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very nice entry, well balanced gameplay and difficulty, good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]