December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Til Tunglsins

by Pitoum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Til Tunglsins is about collaboration.
Humanity looks up at the dark sky and sees
Shiny and bright the moon sleeping there
With stars everywhere.
All together they start building a stairway
Just one for all to reach the sky by this way.

You're one of them.

Find stones and bring them back to the tower.
And try to reach the moon, all together.

COMMANDS:
LEFT/RIGHT: MOVE
UP: JUMP

CONSTRUCTION MODE:
LEFT/RIGHT: MOVE
DOWN: PLACE THE STONE

(Could be pretty long to download, sorry for the inconvenience.)

I couldn't put all I wanted in the game. Only worked on it the last day of the jam. Hope ypu'll enjoy it anyway :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Graphics4.00
#105Mood3.50
#211Audio3.09
#317Innovation3.17
#366Overall3.17
#626Theme2.64
#684Fun2.59
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Very cool game and the art style is fantastic, though after grabbing the first block, I fell off the map.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Music is awesome. That hand-drawn graphics are good too!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

The game looks like it could be something very interesting, but right now it has a couple bugs that make it unplayable (You can still fix these under the rules, as far as I understand them).
After picking up the block, I seem unable to actually use it, even on the tower. After it goes in to build mode and I try to put it down, the camera goes back to my guy, then shows the block near the top of the screen whenever I press space. You can also fall off the map on the right side. A little more work and instructions could go a long ways with this game. Also, cool art style. I hope you continue working on this.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I got enough boxes to consider my job for humanity done. I didn't reach the goal though. Enjoyed it a lot.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Good, but I can't place block, it says I will start with this one, but I have no idea how to place it, I have tried down key, space, enter... I love graphics!

Pitoum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Hi there!
Thank you all. I fixed some bugs right now. All instructions are in the description, but yeah, it's not very clear :)
To be clear, everyone shares the same tower!
apwolf: I fixed it, i forgot to enable the wall, you should have go back after picking up the first stone.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:14am

A very interesting concept, and I like the chalk art.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01pm

i can't place blocks, don't know if i'm supposed to. however i reached the sky, guess i won. the goal isn't very clear, but i loved the chalk art.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:49am

As other said, chalk art and the incidental piano music are very cool - just could do with a more intuitive mechanic for the gameplay, if you can take the spare blocks while you're on the tower, in the sections where there are an abundance of vertical routes, that'd make things more balanced. :)

bodsey says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

I like the art and music. A nice and simple idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]