December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Choice

by sudorossy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You don't have a choice.
You can't change some things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#228Mood3.20
#386Theme3.10
#704Innovation2.58
#769Humor1.48
#807Audio1.13
#941Graphics1.89
#966Overall2.20
#1005Fun1.34

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

AWESOME! *_*
Reading "No choice" kinda gave me the idea of what was about to [not] happen. But it's an interesting concept!

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Interesting concept! I didn't have very clear what thing I got only one of. I think it's "You only get one life", but it could be a little clearer :)

Nice job!

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

Oh. Death. I don't really like being reminded of it. Still, this entry's a pretty cool thing.

LukeR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Doesnt work for me

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Wow, this was deep. Made me think. Cool entry.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Luke, what's the issue? :)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

Quite poignant. Even though I can't change all of these things, I can still choose how to live through them, and that's the choice that matters.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

LOL, dat javascript :P

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

not really a game, but made me think nonetheless!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

I really liked the concept and slow brooding fade to black.

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

I can't call it a game but it made me think about what I'm doing with my life, I liked it.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58am

Interesting concept. I liked the mood/style, kinda wish I could have interacted a little bit though...

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

This is art. Think this one is a game you should think about its message. I faved it... have to sleep for a moment... My mind is overloaded :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

This isn't a game. This is unfair to the people that put hours into real games.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20am

I'm sorry you think it's unfair, but I don't understand why it's unfair?

I put effort into ensuring the message was clear, I learned a new language to code it, and even made sure to test it.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

Like the message behind. :-)

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

pretty cool.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Because hundreds of people put effort into putting together real games. This is just a slideshow with a meaningful message. This is a game competition. This is not a game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

when it's true that this is not a game, I like the message though.

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Trainspotting anyone? :p

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39pm

:( Well done!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I'm not sure I agree that this is not a game. But before we get all meta, let's just say that I like it. :D

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

A good message, I feel. You managed to achieve what you wanted to, which was learn a new language and present something for it, which is great!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

A good message well delivered. I like it :-)

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

well done, although a little bit of interaction would have been nice...

hnjslater says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12am

Wow! And you did this in only 48 hours!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Well .. it's something, not too sure if this is my kind of game but it's interesting for sure :D

Mekuri says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Not really a game, but I'm sure you know. :-) At least a little music for the mood would've added a lot to the mood you try to set.

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:32am

Interesting and sad idea :')
But this is not, how I imagine a game. So only 2/5 for overall :(

Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I like it! ^^

Broxxar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Putting aside the word "game" and whatever that means, this is not an interactive experience. I'm all for experimenting in jams, but this is maybe just a bit too far into the realm of experimental to be a good fit for a jam.

Still, it's quite neat. Nice added touch making it start on the end screen when you return to the page.

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Interesting, although there's no interactivity whatsoever.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]