December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mad One

by Tex Killer - Jam Entry

We didn't get to finish it, but time is runing out and we only get one chance, so there it goes!

Use WASD or the Array Keys to move the Mad One! If you are stuck and want to restart a level (even though I don't think you will be), press R.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#51Humor(Jam)3.56
#105Innovation(Jam)3.34
#159Fun(Jam)3.17
#230Theme(Jam)2.87
#239Audio(Jam)2.98
#269Graphics(Jam)3.21
#269Overall(Jam)3.09
#291Mood(Jam)2.84

Comments

carlsommer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Pretty fun! I definitely wished for more levels, so you got my attention in the time limit you had-well done : )

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

More levels, nice concept.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very funny. Good work. Feels quite polished, but very short. I wish you'd had more time to make it longer.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

graphics and animation were well done

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Suuuper quick.

Really neat mechanic, although it was a bit difficult to figure out how to destroy the clones originally.

I liked how you introduced the player to the mechanic in the opening scenes.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Good take on the theme! As mentioned, it's a shame it was so short!

miwuc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Looks like it could be really fun. Too bad you didn't have more time :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16am

I actually really really enjoyed this. The humor is great, and actually affects the gameplay also in interesting ways. I'd say that also, even though you say you didn't get to finish it I liked that it was so short.

A game like this could have easily ended up long winded, with puzzle after puzzle. I found the length to be long enough to leave me wanting for a little more, and still happy with my experience.

Really great job guys.

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

Aw, too bad there aren't more levels... The idea and setting are so cool...
It would be so great, if you could add some more levels for a post compo version!
Graphics are really nice and the sound is fitting.
Great work so far!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23am

Thanks, guys!

We are already planning to continue developing this in the future, don't worry!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:22pm

The concept is so cool! Why is it so short?

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Funny! More levels are welcome :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Thanks!

There are no more levels because we didn't have time to make any more during the Jam.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:45pm

It's an interesting mechanics, even though I could't exactly get the hang of it! XD Clones just keep appearing! XD Would be nice having a tutorial! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Simple, fun & addictive. I love the concept, but too short. Good job!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Definitely a funny premise and well executed in the few levels there are. I have to admit you piqued my interest with the haunting last lines, I would love to see how a real clone would play out :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54pm

The microbiologist in me obviously like cloning, nicely executed puzzle. Hope you'll give it some more levels.

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51am

Hey, try the windows version please (ld28jam_windows dir inside):
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31663
thanks for playing

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:00am

Like the crazy scientist model. Good puzzle concept. I feel like I killed the "original," but if they're exact copies I guess it doesn't matter (except to the ones that died, i guess)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:31am

More levels would have been great. It's a nice concept but it seemed more like, "You get a bunch" instead of only one.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Thanks for playing!

The idea is that no matter how hard he tries, he always end up alone... in fact, that is the goal to the player: leave only one alive.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

is your site down?

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

More levels and more history!!!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

The site should be online now... try it!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:22am

Shame there's only two levels! Really awesome work regardless though, neat mechanics. :)

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Great game. I like graphics and idea !

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

very interesting. Wish there were more levels but I had fun while it lasted

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

full of humor and interesting mechanic

joekinley says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

The graphics and the audio were quite nice. The game could use more and better levels and kinda more mechanics. This was rather boring in level design.
But good job on finishing something, and on the assets. They were really nice.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Yeah, we didn't spend much time on the level design, cause we had a lot to fix and make... We almost didn't have a second level! lol

Thanks for playing!

Rothens says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

It needs more levels, but I love the concept

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I love this game! It is fun and simple.

psychonull says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Cool stuff! Loved the concept!
At the first time I run the game in linux I couldn't see the mostright section of the screen so I couldn't understand how to get going. After relaunching the game in a different resolution, everything fit.
Good job!

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:06am

Thank you for playing, psychonull!

We actually didn't get to test the Linux version, so your feedback is very important!

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:39am

Pretty fun! :) nice graphics

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:30am

Fun little puzzler with some pretty impressive animated models. Story and music is nice too.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:40am

Not my favorite kind of game, but I really enjoyed the humor.

Tex Killer says ...
Oct 17, 2015 @ 2:42am

So, recently I got working a little bit more on Mad One and got a version on the Google Play Store, including the third stage! :)

To those interested, you can get it for free at https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.peril.madone

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]