December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

L1ghter

by quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"L1ghter" is an epic love story between a boy and his lighter and a dark temple full of unforgiving traps.

You have ONE light source.
There is ONE way out.
There is ONE answer to every puzzle.
Every room has a unique, SINGULAR puzzle.
There is ONE ginourmous spider. I hope you're okay with that.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow for movement, Mouse to turn.
Left Mouse to interact
Mouse Wheel or SHIFT to strike the flint
Right Mouse or CTRL to flip the lid

Hints:
- Solution to the Chessboard puzzle: http://i.imgur.com/61wkcta.jpg
- The big spider can be trapped in the "jail cell".
- One of the jars won't shake when you approach.
- If you die, your progress persists and you keep any keys you've collected. You start with a fresh lighter.


===

This was built in 48 hours by Quill18 in front of tens of thousands of people via livestream. Tools:

* Unity 3d Pro (with ProBuilder and ProGrids plugins)
* Blender 3d
* Substance Designer 4
* PhotoShop
* Audacity

Watch my Unity/Blender programming tutorials: http://youtube.com/quill18creates
Watch my video game commentaries: http://youtube.com/quill18

http://quill18.com
http://twitter.com/quill18
http://facebook.com/quill18

===

Updates:
- Removed bottom two quality settings (you NEED per-pixel lighting).
- Fixed "Escape" button on standalone builds
- Running out of lighter fluid killed the lighter instead of the player. Oops.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Audio3.73
#43Overall3.83
#51Mood3.74
#67Humor3.61
#92Fun3.57
#133Theme3.57
#199Innovation3.40
#202Graphics3.58
#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Skyrossm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59am

much game. very fun. would play again. so exciting

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:24am

Nice game, great audio! :D The "whoosh" at the chessboard freaked the hell out of me at the. Now if I could only survive that spider...

sausag3s says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33am

I was waiting for this game. It's really great, user friendly and smooth. Thank you so much Quill18!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53am

Linux version seems to work great.

Pinkerpops says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06am

Watched the stream all day, glad it's finally done :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Ahh its amazing to finally try the game I watch you code ! Awesome job ! I love it, the voice was a great add ;) and really good idea to use the mouse wheel to ignite the lighter.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Someone really likes your game - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TxuHMvvvQxU

oxysoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Incredibly boring, the voice acting was annoying and seemed rushed. The idea on the other hand wasn't too bad and the mouse wheel idea was pretty clever

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

This came together really well! Thanks so much for streaming the work you did on this over the weekend!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Great job quill this was a excellent game made in 48 hours (i don't even know how you did it)

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Very awesome game! I loved the puzzles, especially the spider pots. Your voiceovers made the game much more enjoyable and funny, although they don't fit the atmosphere.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

This was pretty incredible for just 48 hours! I really enjoyed the banter/barks, the interesting level layout and the controls were pretty decent. I think my only criticism was that the puzzles were more brute-force solving than anything, few hints as to how to get there. The chess-board puzzle was somewhat startling when you get there, and difficult to figure out the pattern.

Skepsis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06am

The chess board puzzle was awesome! The giant spider was terrifying. Atmospheric sounds could have been improved, although hearing the whooshing of the saw blades in the distances was fantastic. Overall, awesome game! Loved the twitch stream too!

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Very cool game, it's incredible what can be done in 48 hours with Unity. That spider was too scary though :~)

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Awesome work sir!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

The voice acting was great, I loved it. I had more fun hearing the player than playing the game itself though.
The mood was very nice, but I missed some hints on how to solve the puzzles and sometimes the imnement danger appeared too quickly, without me even noticing it. I liked the idea of letting the tomb as a flag for where you died, though. Because, first, you know there's a danger there and take more careful, and second, because the player can use that to create a map for himself, using the tombs as map references.
Nice Job!

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45pm

The game looks and plays great, is fun and the audio is just amazing!
I've found some bugs though:
1. The lock audio repeats every time you approach it (not sure if intended, feels like a bug)
2. The giant spider audio started playing when I already trapped it.
3. When an audio starts playing it doesn't turn off the already playing ones. I once had 3 voices screaming at me at the same time.

P.S. It was a pleasant surprise for me to learn that one of my favorite youtubers is a fellow game developer and participates in Ludum Dare.
This was supposed to end with "But I'm still gona beat ya!" but I'm nto so sure anymore, my game turned out to be super-ugly.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice little game. I play around 10 minutes. It's very cool.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

The falling floor puzzle almost made me break the keyboard my first time. Fun game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Really cool game. My main criticism would be that the chessboard puzzle is incredibly frustrating and relies purely on trial&error rather than actual puzzle-solving.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Wow! I've been watching your live streams since Pinbology, but I missed this one while I was making my own game. It seems I missed the making of a great game.
Fantastic sounds, as usual.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Really enjoyed it. I laughed a few times at the commentary. Nice concept and execution.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

love using the scrollwheel to light the zippo. Feels just a little bit more like the real thing.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great Fun and long!

Pokefan9987 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

That was terrific! :D

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53pm

enjoyable, the chess puzzle was a little tedious and I had a CTD after getting 2 keys. thanks.

quill18 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

For anyone having issues with the chessboard puzzle, the solution can be found here:
http://i.imgur.com/61wkcta.jpg

I had hoped to add more hints in-game to make it easier to solve, but ran out of time.

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Impressive how much you did in 48 hours, it would be nice if there would be an identification for which door to take 1st

Kane says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice adventure game! (I don't say little, i have spend so much time on it >.>).
And really great work with Unity! I hope being able to do the same one day.

But it's too bad that we have only a lighter and no arm with hand to grab it :(

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Gave up after a while, stoopid spaidur.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice job, loved the mousewheel/lighter flint mechanic. :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Using the mousewheel to flick the lighter is brilliant. I found the voice-over to be a little annoying and not all that humorous.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Watched you on stream developing this and it looked pretty interesting. Nice take on the theme and an impressive amount of work for 48 hours, good work on the animation work with the moving pots - rated highly! :)

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:11am

I really like your self-narration, I think it really added a lot, though perhaps you should keep track of repeated lines. Also, I think normal quill18 is funnier than pitch-shifted quill18, but that's just me. XD A very solid package and clever use of the theme. Your lighter wins my award for favorite FPS 'weapon' of the year for both it's usage and control scheme. :) Great attention to detail with the audio, even including footsteps, though some of the traps lacked sound and some ambient noise could have added a lot. Good use of the theme too.

BudgieKnight says ...
Apr 17, 2015 @ 7:20am

Very fun game, I'm surprised that anyone could make such a good game in only 48 hours. Although the voice acting is a bit buggy and the chess puzzle drove me insane, I stilled had a good time with it and was greatly impressed.

I'm looking forward to your next Ludum Dare game and tutorials.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]