December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ONE AT A TIME. PICK WISELY TO PROSPER.

by seagaia - Jam Entry

USE THE SPACE BAR TO PICK PARTNERS AND GAIN INTELLECT AND PHYSICAL SATISFACTION POINTS

OBTAIN MANY PARTNERS OR RAISE SCORES OR DON'T IT'S UP TO YOU.

context:

when i heard 'you only get one' i immediately thought to social pressures around monogamy in most social circles and the implication that has for our intellectual and physical satisfactions, and then i attempted to make that into a game in 3 hours. what's funny is that a lot of the mechanics kind of worked in some ways, not necessarily intentionally. dunno. lemme know what you think.


made in 3 hours sorry

twitter.com/seagaia2
game im working on now: twitter.com/eventheocean / twitter.com/anodynegame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#167Innovation(Jam)3.15
#187Mood(Jam)3.13
#321Audio(Jam)2.68
#343Theme(Jam)2.54
#485Graphics(Jam)2.27
#488Overall(Jam)2.41
#541Fun(Jam)1.60

Comments

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

It seems like a really cool idea and I thought the ambient music was pretty cool but I was horribly confused :(

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

I'm sorry, I couldn't figure out what was going on at all! I pressed space a lot but couldn't see anything happen (except that the numbers up in the top left would change). Still, the graphical effects were pretty neat and the idea is hilarious/cycnical/bizarre.

flatgub says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

This game was really interesting! I loved the music and the whole idea, but it needed a menu and the instructions need to be shown before gameplay, not during...
Great job though!
-Flatgub

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45am

Well, for something made in 3 hours it sure is very moody.
The mood of the game is very scary, the music, the words, the colors, and walls closing by... if you had more time would be really awesome!
Not sure if I got what I played, but liked what I saw.
Good work, I hope see you with full time next jam! :)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

that was very confusing and intriguing. i liked it!

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12am

This was really bizarre and apparently ended before I could figure out what was going on at all.

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

There were sounds and movements and words and numbers and I pressed space a lot and some things turned green at the last minute and I was told I had 92 relations so I guess I liked it?

Note for future games: the spacebar also scrolls the page down in some browsers, particularly if the game/plugin/whatever element has not been clicked first, to give it focus. Make users click something first before asking them to press the spacebar in a webplayer build. (Also, please don't hide the cursor without locking it.)

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14am

Couldn't figure this one out.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51am

trippy, confusing, surreal. pretty cool for 3 hours man. ugh, are we just parasites moving from host to host?

stwelin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58am

The premise intrigued me. I think the music is very fitting for the mood. It fails because I lose focus on the important information: my score is computed to intellectual and physical satisfaction, yet i feel like I had no control over either variables. Considering 3 hours spent - pretty snappy!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Music was nice but INSTRUCTIONS! :D

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:32am

Ohhhhhhh you can also use arrow keys. Spacebar is like acceleration. This music is awesome. Dig the aesthetics and theme. Is not fun. Much like many of my relationships.

Absurditure says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51am

Interesting subject matter to explore in a game. Made me think a bit about my own relationships and monogamous society(serial monogamy really). Especially in terms of time limits, and depth of relationships.

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48am

As above, love the concept. Could have been a gem with more than 3 hours of work. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

good use of the theme and the game's message about social pressure was conveyed with success. the mood was well defined with the music and the graphics' agitation.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Don't really now what happened there but I liked the visual and the mood :) Looks like I have been making up with some blue squares?

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:19am

is there a tutorial or walkthrough for this ?

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:25am

The gameplay is too fast, hard to understand what is happening. Some instructions would do a lot to improve the game.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:36pm

The idea is interesting, but couldn't figure out how to play

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting concept! Too bad you couldn't dedicate more time to it, I would like to see this game developed further to see what it can achieve :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]