December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dinosaur Rush

by caranha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Post Compo Version Released! See below for changes)

Use your awesome "Laser Dinosaur" to defeat ever increasing hordes of aliens. How far can you go?

To help you, you have the option of 4 very powerful upgrades... but you only get one!

Did I mention your Dino is in a rocket hoverboard? AWESOME!

Controls:
WASD or Mouse: Move the LASER DINOSAUR around.
Space or Double-Click: RAWR!


** Features **
- Available for Windows, Linux, Mac (JAR) and Android;
- Three different kinds of enemies;
- Infinite difficulty progression;
- Dinosaurs with Lasers
- Rawr!

** POST COMPO VERSION v0.2.2**
- Bigger bullets are easy to see
- Rebalanced difficulty
- Much easier control on Android (no need to finger the dinosaur!)
- Other small quality-of-life additions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#111Humor3.37
#275Fun3.21
#314Audio2.86
#384Mood2.93
#429Overall3.09
#451Graphics3.00
#730Innovation2.53
#737Theme2.45

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Wow very hectic! I like the weapon options cool

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51am

Really funny game. I think the bullets could be bigger to get better visual effect.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

I think everyone can agree that dinosaurs are pretty cool. :)

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Great job! Really liked the idea and very fun to play. Good graphics too!

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

OK, this was hilarious! I enjoyed my dino-hoverboarding session immensely. You caught the theme spot on, only one powerup :D My favorite was the shield because I lasted longerst with it. The lasers could have been bigger though.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

As a dinosaur fan I loved the rawr! Nice dinosaur! Too easy to die.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

OMG is that a laser dino? Yes it is a laser dino! This game is great

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

Graphics are awesome! But I found that the multi-shot bullet is quite hard to recognize.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

Thanks everyone for the comments! A lot of people are asking for the lasers to be bigger and more visible. That is a great idea, I will make sure to put it on the next version of the game :-)

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

Mega Beeeeam! The contrast of the game is bad for bullet recognizing, otherwise fun little game.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11am

Hemuuuli: Thanks, you're right. I will work on the background colors too!

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27am

Dinosaurs > Check
Lasers > Check
Zeppelins > Check


Fun game, had a bit trouble seeing the enemy bullets as they are a bit small.

saulopz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:28am

This is a funny game. :) I liked so much the graphics and sound.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I like the nice graphics, the great sound effects, especially the rawr, and the options in the game menu. Your game has everything that's needed, except a boss fight. Great game!

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice one. And full of doubleclick-awesomeness :D

I also think that the bullets should be bigger.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Most of the time I got killed was because enemy bullets are not easily visible. Making them bigger or using different distinct color would be really helpful. Music and gameplay are ok though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Haha funny, I made a game with dinosaure too but not the same way ^^

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15am

i can't see the bullet

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42am

Retro goodness! I dominated with the multi-shot! I wish that enemy bullets were easier to see. When I start to think of constructive criticisms, I have to remember one guy did all of it!! Then it's super impressive!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Hahaha, so much fun man. pew pew pew

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

btw the concept art I saw on Twitter was SICK

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Fun stuff!
Those grey bullets are hard to you see against the background...

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40pm

The dinosaur's hitbox is big as hell.

ploogle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:14pm

SICK music! A shocking number of people didn't have any music, so a groove this fine was very welcome.

Fun to play too...but the MUSIC. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

That was a nice game. Playing easy indeed was a bit too easy.
I like the dinosaur roar at the beginning.
Nice graphics too.
I played on Android and your finger sometimes gets in your view. Good thing you changed that.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Hola, we finally found some time to make a Linux build, if you want to try it out, you're welcome !

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:00am

The game works on Linux. Cute game! The mega beam was the easiest, because you need so many shots to kill most enemies with the other weapons. The controls are jittery, the dinosaur wouldn't always stay in one place or go where I wanted.

GFM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:13am

RAWR!
Really fun game! It's a shooter with a rocket-hoverboard-riding dinosaur... how wouldn't it be? :)

It's kinda difficult to see the bullet shoot horizontally by the ground units.

Also, why would anyone want a weapon besides the MEGA BEAM? XD
(Just kidding, nice weapons! But my favorite will always be the gigantic laser!!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]