December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stingtime for Hitler

by hroon - Jam Entry

You only get one sting - then you die. Such is the life of a bee.
Hitler has unleashed his minions to enslave your fellow bees. Seek revenge on all humans, guide the queen safely to her hive and as always - Kill Hitler!

Controls:
Cursor keys - fly around
CTRL - Buzz
SPACE - fire your Sting
'R' - Restart level

Goal:
- Kill all humans in the level with one sting
- Also get the queen to move into the hive

Software used:
Construct2, GIMP, Audacity, Guitar Pro 6, Sibelius 7, MS Paint, cinema 4d

Team:
Michael F.
Clemens S.
Ray H.
Martin F.
Manuel S.
Julia S.
Clemens P.

Special thanks for all the honey:
http://www.imkerbund.at/

Web version files are here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6k5rrwsnr7qahro/LD48JAMonlyone.zip
There seem to be problems when using chrome - Firefox should be fine.

64bitLinux: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a3e1eu16mew777b/linux64.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#129Theme(Jam)3.24
#130Humor(Jam)3.00
#208Innovation(Jam)3.03
#243Audio(Jam)2.97
#266Overall(Jam)3.10
#300Fun(Jam)2.77
#391Mood(Jam)2.56
#454Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Deserves an award for the pun! :D Nice little sequential puzzler, very enjoyable. :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Nice job, took me a few minutes to figure out what was happening but I got there.

Great name! This does not strike me as a game that would get the Nintendo seal of approval due to the "Hitler" in the name. Maybe a Tengen game? :)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

Funny game, the jump in difficulty from level one to 2 was a lot. Good job though!

Alink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

Quite weird at first, but after that it all makes sense and gives a good puzzle. The look and animation are very nice.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49am

solid work, nice level design

hroon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Thank you all for the nice comments so far :)

If anyone needs a little help solving the levels - here is a short walkthrough:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmN50IBOZsw

The game is only 6 levels long so you might want to try and beat it yourself befor watching.

Have fun! :)

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Cool game, I like the exploding guys :D Just trying to zoom in was weird and I couldn't read what the buzz key was but I found it here in the page. Difficult amps a lot after the first stage.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Fun little game! I've seen a lot of chain reaction style games before and a lot of laser/mirror style games where you have to line things up perfectly, but I can't think of any that combine the two mechanics.

Gear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Did a bee just flip me the bird?

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Quite average performance at best. Exploding people? Bee shooting the sting from the head? This game doesn't make much sense, and Hitler is just so much unrelated.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Cool puzzle game. Took me a minute to figure out how it works, but afterwards it was great fun. The NES-cardridge picture definitely caught my eye in the games list, so well done marketing ;)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:24pm

The levels are clever, but the premise of the game makes it hard to understand what to do at first.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:18am

nice work :D

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

For some reason, the Web Player is tiny on this one .. I don't know why but it's nearly unplayable as far as web goes. After I finally figured out what to do, I enjoyed it quite a bit though :)

hroon says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:48am

Hi dqmhose! Thank you for your review! Could you tell us which browser you were using and which version? Thanks!

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Funny idea, although it would have been nice if there was more humor throughout the game (play the other Hitler-based entry to see what I mean). Gameplay was fine, but not particularly interesting or innovative. Graphics looked ok, but I wish it was easier to tell which way the people were facing. Music and sound were ok too, but also not particularly notable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]