December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

by Lythom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

That day, the dwarves took a huuuge order of 70 tonnes of ore.It was a hard job but they were confident for the deadline.
Unfortunatly, a storm swept across most of their house, leaving only one bed. There were no time to rebuild the house, the order had to be prepared !

Help the dwarves managing their work and sleep by sharing the only one bed you got.

The game is made in haxe+openfl targetting html5/js.
Click a dwarf to send him to bed. Click him again or send another dwarf to bed to send him back to work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Theme3.73
#384Innovation3.06
#559Overall2.94
#716Fun2.53
#755Graphics2.40
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Lythom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

Personnl record : 77200 !
Have fun ;)

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

Nice implementation of the theme! The gameplay needs a bit more complexity, I never really had to make an hard decisions about who to send to bed, I just sent whoever was most tired. I think to make this work, each dwarf needs to have their own unique way of interacting with the mining ( maybe one prevents cave-ins, one boosts everyone else's productivity, one moves ore out to a stockpile, etc... Also might be good to have random events that deplete and refill the dwarves energy bars, to make it less predictable.

I enjoyed the drawings though, who is the guy with a tree in front of his head?? :D

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

Oh I almost forgot, I played this on ipad and it worked great, good job!

Lythom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I thought about random events but ran out of time (had a heavy week end aside of the ludum dare :( ). Alors, combination/interaction between dwarves in definitely what the game miss !
I didn't try the game on mobile devices and this is definitly a good news, thanks a lot for your feedback !
Btw, the dwarf hiding behind the tree is Bashful =)

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:32am

Cute little game. I like the unusual take on the them and the fairytale. I certainly sympathise with the dwarves haha!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:46am

Made it to 77300 :)

Innovative take on the theme and surprisingly compelling. If the game have a bit more feedback (sound and animations) it would've been even better. However, I would say it was too easy, at no point did I feel rushed or threatened by failure!

deepnight says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04am

That's a very good interpretation of the theme :)
The game is surprisingly pleasant yet simple, I managed to reach 77200! It maybe lacks some kind of penalty when someone falls asleep, like a long cooldown before waking up. The rythm of energy loss seems different between the dwarves, but it maybe would require more variations to be really important (like various bar sizes).

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:53pm

reached 7000! really great use of the theme. very innovative and addictive. nice job!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice game. My record 77600 :D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:06am

76800

garygreen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I thought that was a very original idea - straightforward, but fun too. Nice one.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:54am

fun little game about timing and management. I like the idea about the classic fairy story being used and the characetured dwarves.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]