Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shabby Buffet - Devtactics - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** NOTE: The game is currently unwinnable, but you might have fun just mucking around. **

You only get one trip to the buffet. Grab a plate. Fill it with food. Get it back to your chair (the green one). Try not to get bumped by the other diners.

Move: WASD
Look: Mouse
Jump: Spa--wait, why would you jump at a buffet? Settle down.

Unfortunately, it's currently impossible to keep *any* food on your plate for more than a second. Hooray for physics? This bug has pretty much killed the game. :(

I'm submitting it anyway in case it makes someone laugh. See if you can find the hidden "chaos trigger" that spawns more furniture (somewhat explosively). And I may add an Oculus Rift version if anyone's interested.

[ALSO NOTE: In the standalone builds, you'll need to hit Escape *twice* to exit.]

View Devtactics's journal. | View all entries by Devtactics

Ratings

Coolness57%
#38Humor3.82
#132Graphics3.79
#199Innovation3.40
#297Fun3.18
#299Theme3.23
#414Mood2.89
#554Overall2.95
#787Audio1.30

Comments

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

Pretty funny though obviously incomplete

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Too bad it didn't work in the end! It seems like you got a lot of things already done. It looks nice and I really wish there was an actual game to play here. Made me laugh though :)

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

That was a really funny game. The waiters tipping over tables is hilarious. I wish the plates could carry food a little better, I couldn't even walk with anything. Maybe something a little more bowl-like would be better.

Devtactics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51am

I tried a bowl but the problem seems to be with the food particles forcing their way through colliders if the colliders move. I also tried doing the food without particles but ran into other problems that way. Oh well! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13am

I REALLY like the idea, has the potential to be hilarious and a blast to play. The physics issue is a shame because this has a lot of potential and looks pretty nice. Would really like to play a finished version.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16am

Pretty funny and maybe has potential if you work on it more. Nice effort!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

I have seen your blog posts and was really looking forward to play it. It's different than imaged though. Even better. The waiters are awesome!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32am

Well, make me laugh you did ;)

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

This was hilarious! I can just imagine the conversation: "Mommy, why is uncle frank pushing everything over? I'm scared"

Jilt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Made me laugh hahaha
I wich it worked !

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

omfg this game has sooooo much potential, I just want to see the complete version. Awesome use of the theme and awesome NPC AI.

Pol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Haha, I'm totally looking forward seing what you'll do with this if you ever succeed in fixing the thing. Also, two chairs got stuck in one another and started levitating, spinning around on top of another pile of chairs. I thought that was pretty fucking rad.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Awesome concept, and the way food spews forth from the buffet is both hilarious and terrifying.
Would definitely play a finished version of this!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very pretty game but offers little in terms of gameplay.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39am

Hah, this is so funny, love it. I know you have problems with the physics, but I really think this one has potential. First entry to give me a big grin!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I have to apologize.... I completely trashed the restaurant!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Great game... cool experience. I used the space key very very often... If I eat lunch i'm jumping all the time in real life ^^ Enjoyed playing. Thanks

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:00am

Even though it's broken with the slippery food, it's still fun. Hope you can figure out the issue.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Very funny! :D

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:38pm

I kinda doubt it would be fun to play even if it was possible to keep the food on the table...

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Already makes fun, even through its incomplete.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]