December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Jump

by Scipio Xaos - Jam Entry

Only four playable levels, but it gives you an idea of the direction we wanted to head in. We're gonna keep working on it on our own so you may see a finalized non-competition version show up sometime after the voting.

That being said expect a Postmortem sometime tomorrow.

Try to make it to the door.

Controls Summary:
"A" : Go Left
"D" : Go Right
"W" : Interact (With doors or levers.)
"R" : Restart Level
"Escape" : Pause
"Space" : Jump (Careful... only ONE JUMP!)

Coding - Scipio Xaos (me)
Artwork and Sound - Malokia (My Brother)

This game was made completely in Java (no external libraries). The artwork was made in Paint.NET. The sound was made in FL Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Theme(Jam)3.35
#233Fun(Jam)2.96
#291Innovation(Jam)2.78
#293Audio(Jam)2.78
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#378Humor(Jam)1.94
#400Graphics(Jam)2.70
#414Mood(Jam)2.47
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05am

fun! I like how you can jump in midair!

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41am

Wow, level 3 is rough! I like the concept and dig the music; I just wish I was better at it.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Hard levels and great music combine to make a great game :D Well done :)

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03pm

The third level (excluding the start screen) was really hard, I just can't figure out how to do that one. :P Nice game.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Good job ! Went to level 3 and then failed...Bug great game, well played.
Maybe graphics are a bit simple and repeated.

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I really cannot say I enjoy this game. it's a nice concept, but it fails as a platformer due to the buggy collision detection with the moving platforms and the fact that you dont move with the platform, rather that you have to constantly move yourself in order not to fall off.

It had a good puzzle game idea, but lacked in the technical aspect to make it all work.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I LOVE the arm flailing animation. So funny. I also like that you can jump in air.
It would have been nice if moving platforms carried you though, that made it a bit too difficult!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Yea, we ran out of time. We wanted to make the platforms move you, and intend to have it so when we finish the post-compo version. And it was the collision detection that took up most of our time and it still came out buggy. XD

Thanks for the comments, guys. Glad it's been enjoyed a little. :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Cool idea!
The music is quite nice and I like the jumping animation^^
Level 4 is too hard for me. Please don't be offended, but moving platforms, that don't move you while standing on it are really cruel...
Thumbs up, for using pure Java :)
In the pause menu you have written "Leertaste" instead of "space" ;) Ansonsten super Arbeit :)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

"Leertaste"? Hmm. Quite interesting. Getting the name of a key using the Java keyCode methods yields translated names depending on what's the system language you're using... Heh heh. I agree, though. Those platforms are really annoying... And thanks. :)

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

I really love the animation and the midair jump XD

However, it's really hard and I actually haven't been able to finish stage 3 (the one with the switch) because...
-Friction does not exist in this world, ergo you have to move while on the platforms! And they go so fast it's hard not to fall XD
-The movement of the platforms is not really well timed and sometimes it's plain impossible to make the jump to get up, so you gotta move with the platform back and forth this the opportunity arises.
-After you press the switch you can't get into the platform the first time. This makes the scene completely frustrating after a few tries XD

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35am

Yea, we didn't make it to friction sadly. Platform movement probably wasn't thought too much through by my bro. And that first switch is a little antagonizing.

That being said, a game-breaking bug was fixed that prevented you from even being able to finish the final level so hopefully you'll be able to beat this demo (almost typed demon :P ) now. :P

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Hard as balls! Nice concept, but I couldn't get along with those moving platforms at all. That flailing arm animation is gold, great stuff!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:23am

It was fun but Level 3 really brought it up a notch and you didn't move with the platform, which was really frustrating!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:26am

It was a bit difficult to complete the levels with moving platforms due to the player not moving along with them. Has potential.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:26am

+1 for moving with platforms.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:24am

Great little game, was surprisingly hard to move with the platforms. I like it.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:00am

I like the jumping animation :P Not too keen on the moving platforms not carrying you however.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:22am

Epic! 'One jump' was among my ideas as well. Great to see it done properly.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:14am

good

Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Definitely a cool idea. The last level was a little difficult though, and I basically skipped the 3rd one by falling down and doing an "air jump" - not sure if that was intended, but it's good that it's possible since succeeding by kind of breaking the rules is always satisfying. :P

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:05am

hehehe nice game! i like how the graphics are like the jumping animation! the game was kind of hard but is fun ! Great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]