December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Spear Savage

by Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take on savages with a spear!

Fight a bunch of savages on randomly generated maps with JUST ONE SPEAR.

Hunt them down, track them, and when the time is right... hurl your spear. Don't forget to pick it up, you only get one!

- Click to move around
- Hold space to aim
- Click again to launch your spear
- GO PICK IT UP AGAIN

Had a lot of fun with this one -- pretty much a whole day of brainstorming ideas and eventually coming up with this... then building it in the final 24-30 hours.

Unity Web Player version above -- as well as desktop builds for Windows, Mac / OS/X, Linux & source. If you lose your spear in a tree, press Escape to start over.

(added 16/12) Mac/Linux/Windows versions are up... as is an experimental Android version (touch and hold to aim, release to shoot). Will only really work on devices with 16:9 ratios or similar (tested on Nexus 4 & 5).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#128Theme3.58
#245Fun3.26
#261Audio2.97
#315Humor2.71
#351Mood2.97
#420Overall3.10
#504Graphics2.92
#577Innovation2.79

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very fun gameplay and a nice take on the theme. Audio could use some work,it was a little static-y at times but all around to a bad game. Well done.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I would change a little controls but I have a lot of fun! Audio make really good mood :-)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Surprisingly enjoyable! I like it :) And yet another game using the one weapon/bullet constraint (mine included), haha.

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Simply amazing, so simple, so satisfying, so challenging! Only complaint is the sound effect when clicking, I want to spamclick to move but the sound is really annoying after a while, except for that this game is amazing! :D

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Nice and fun concept which makes sense within the Theme!

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Really fun! played like 5 times xD , now imagine if it had a multiplayer...

hadesfury says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Gave it a shot on android on my nexus 7, it worked really fine! Nice little game!

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Dammit, you scored almost perfect from me.
You won me just from the cubes (check my game to see why), but in general it's a perfectly balanced game.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Simple and effective :). The controls grew on me but I would make the movement not require clicking but rather hold down the mouse button. Oh, and pretty particle effects!

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Loved the mumbling-walk-sound. And a simple yet effective gameplay.

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:02am

Interesting - you had a similar concept to my game Hammer Control! There's another one with a spear, too, called Javel-Ein from the jam, and one with an arrow called Titan Souls.

haveric says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:03am

This is actually a really fun game and a nice take on the theme. Great Job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:03am

I't would be great to move with WASD though.
But game is awesome!

Tomski says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:05am

Hehe, loved the movement, was it by design to stop moving when you aim? Really fun anyway :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:54am

The controls remind me of Defense of the Ancients or League of Legends, which is kind of an odd choice for a game like this one. Not bad, though.

van noctar says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Great gameplay!! :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice concept and good execution... Enjoyed it...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]