December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Make it Count

by tSwitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

�Become Ace "Loneshot" Trigger, the special agent with a penchant for ponchos and more than just a signature look. Ace made his name by resolving the most difficult of hostage situations, all while only ever firing a single bullet.

With his trusty handgun "Betty" and his bouncing bullets, can he continue the incredible killstreak?

-------------------------------------------

Ace will turn to face your mouse at all times, allowing you to aim his shot.

There is no time limit, so feel free to take as long as you need to think.

There is a reticle that will indicate where the bullet will initially strike after you fire.

Kill every enemy in the level to win.

You lose points for killing hostages, and lose if you kill them all.

You can restart the level at any time by pressing 'R', or return to Level Select by pressing 'ESCAPE.'

-------------------------------------------

The Windows version should be compatible with Linux under WINE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

I know you're not supposed to, but it felt pretty satisfying to kill the hostages too, you know, just once in a while...
A well made game. I have the feeling the game would be pretty great on mobile too !

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36am

I tried that last level, I really tried. :) I like the look of the game, it's very well put together.

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The idea of a bouncing bullet is nothing new, but an idea is always just as good as its implementation and regarding this aspect is just really fun. The catchy tune is great. :)
It works fine with WINE (except switching desktop, then the whole game zooms by the factor of two each time)
+ Bonus Points for the auto resolution, so it even fits on my netbook screen. Thats the first game of this LD i played that supports it.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Good fit with the theme. Fun game with great audio and graphics.

Jacic says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Very fun game, and great use of the theme! :)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Can get really tricky! The audio and graphics are great and it's really fun to play. Theme was used well I'd say.

rxi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Enjoyed this a lot.

The graphics worked really well and I can't fault them at all. The gameplay was excellent, it felt a lot like trying to make trick shots in pool. Once I'd fired my shot I was on the edge of my seat waiting for my bullet to shred through the bad guys and tensing up whenever it approached a hostage.

The sound and the music went hand in hand and worked well with the graphics, giving it quite a consistent and polished feel. Though I unfortunately had to give up on the last level after many attempts, I would love to see a post competition version with additional levels.

Overall really nice work and an excellent use of the theme.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I feel like this game suffers mostly from trying to be too faithful to the theme. It's perhaps the most obvious idea one could have, and there isn't any added variety like ways to influence the bullet's trajectory. The presentation is similarly mechanical, with "that one font" and pseudo-chiptune noises.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Neat use of the theme. I had to give up during the last level too, but everything before that was pretty satisfying. I liked your art direction with this, with the colors and the mood.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]