December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Batteries Not Included

by Photon - Jam Entry

Remember all those times when you were scrounging for batteries among all your electronic devices? Well, get ready to scrounge again.

Three robots; one battery. Each have their own abilities and rate of power consumption. Can you get them to the end of this puzzling factory, utilizing each to their own particular traits? Don't let your only battery left die!

Game design and music by Photon ( www.photongamedev.wordpress.com )
Art by Max Glockling Games ( maxglocklinggames.com )

Instructions are on the game page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#64Fun(Jam)3.56
#118Theme(Jam)3.28
#142Overall(Jam)3.39
#155Innovation(Jam)3.22
#219Audio(Jam)3.03
#233Humor(Jam)2.48
#266Graphics(Jam)3.22
#301Mood(Jam)2.81

Comments

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36am

Well done guys!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21pm

That was fun to play! Nice work!:)

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Gameplay is boring, but easy to understand

Raphy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Hey I can't beat level 2... What are you supposed to do with the little bulldozer ? (Sorry I'm maybe stupid :S)

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

@Raphy: if you are talking about the level I think you are, the bulldozer is supposed to push the switch over the spikes for the green robot.

Thanks for the feedback so far guys.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

quite charming, but, for some reason I couldn't use the little "tank" to press the switch on the other side of the spikes. It's very polished and well done.

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

@blasmena: you have to hold down Z to push; I was hoping the Z icon above it would help indicate that. Maybe not. :P

The reason you hold Z is so that you can move around it to get to the other side and then push it.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:40am

Pretty solid platformer. Would of loved some hidden collectibles to spice it up.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43am

Well designed levels; it got very hard, but was very rewarding to complete a level. I didn't finish, but will come back later.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:51am

Great game. I really liked how you implemented the theme.
The three different robots with different abilities was very cool. I dont really have anything negative to say other than the energy maybe running a little fast.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55am

Great job!

travislucia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Hey Photon, Great job on the game. Its always fun to watch a game in development and then jump into a more finalized/ polish version..even if that takes place in just a few days! Thanks for the comments and rating and I will be turing it into a more full and polished release with a slight greater combat level and some more exploration and also sounds....Good luck!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nicely designed puzzles. I really enjoyed this.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:52am

Well done game, I liked each of the robot's skills.

sockfolder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:56am

Wow someone made a game with the same title as mine =).
Nice puzzles. I especially liked the second to last one.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Very nice game :) Reminds me of dos days. Great level designs. Couldn't get what the magnifying glass things were? Didn't play past level 6 though.

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Nice and polished game, looks pretty finished. Levels were interesting. The timer made it a bit fussy though.
What is the last level about? I completed it without using bulldoser or pushing blocks.

Photon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:37pm

@Madball:

I'd be interested to know how. I suspect it has something to do with the UFO dude.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:08am

There are no flaws in this entry, amazing puzzle development and extremely fun! It's a bit of a hard time to figure our how to use the second robot but once you get that everything is perfect. Amazing Job :D

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice use of theme, and awesome level design!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Really great game! Graphics are great! Gameplay is fun! And the levels are addictive. The teamwork between you and max was flawless! Great job! And good luck!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Not bad, and nice graphics! I got confused sometimes about the what the three robots did, but I got the hang of it eventually.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Not bad.

jprogman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:58am

Very smart game you got there!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Cool game, I like the mechanics. The puzzles are interesting and the movement, while it could be improved, still feels very good. I didn't understand at first that all the robots shared the power bar. Some sort of animation to indicate the passing of the charge could help to convey this better through the gameplay.

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:33am

So cute and well done! Music is adorable :D

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

Really neat and polished little puzzle game, rated highly. :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Maybe I'm slow, but the energy bar runs out very fast !
Good way to use the theme.

Tips : The bulldozer is not intuitive to use at first, you have to hold X to use it.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This little guy was SOOO CUTE!! Nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/IHhkgdPuakc

Zener says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:24am

That's a cool game! Looks very polished, congrats!

Madball says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:03pm

@Photon: I don't remember the level exactly, but I used UFO to drag the jumper closer to buttons, then I dragged them to the jumper and pushed them with it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]