December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one COLOUR

by soy_yuma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one COLOUR!

Goal:
Get to the portal at the end of the level.

Controls:
<- -> to move
up arrow to jump
1 2 3 4 to change colour

(Time+Face)Lapse:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GW1eKo8Vjq0

GitHub repository:
https://github.com/SoyYuma/ld48-28

Public Trello pseudo-scrum:
https://trello.com/b/IBbkgdox/ludum-dare

Postmortem reflexions:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/18/you-only-get-one-colour-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#14Innovation4.09
#57Overall3.78
#58Theme3.79
#115Audio3.36
#134Mood3.43
#145Fun3.45
#283Humor2.80
#607Graphics2.72

Comments

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11am

Very innovative!! :O great job

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I keep dying :-)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Really very good, I've seen a few 'One colour' entries but this is by a long way the best, and one of the only ones which feels original.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Cool!

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Cool concept. I feel like the game could benefit from being able to see a subtle outline of the other colours. There is no way to know what the other colours will hold until you switch to them and die, forcing you to restart. This is especially tricky on the platforming levels.

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Cool, reminds me „Simon says“ somehow :D

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

A truly brilliant game... with its gameplay, meaning, story, tone, and all, it definetely stands out.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Excellent and innovative mechanic and the story parts were solid too! Would love to see this expanded on!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Quite fun, could have benefited from a few frames of animation, but the level desing is clearly the focus here, and it is very neat. I also enjoyed the sounds it makes when you change levels :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Great entry. Good take on the "change colours to change the level" mechanic. Love the sfx though the music could do with being a little longer as a loop. Graphics are spartan but they fit together nicely as a theme and the game controls very smoothly and responsively.

Gets difficult, or that could be my rubbish memory holding me back.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Holy guacamole! I didn't expect so many comments! I love that you liked it!

@Miltage: I used to jump and then quickly change colours to peek the next step. After some hours of debugging I got quite well at it!

@Tsumei: I didn't have time to improve the graphics :( Also, I'm terrible (as in really really bad) at it.

@background_nose: sfx are my voice and a mic, lol. I didn't have time to make a longer loop for the music. I've to find more time for next LD!

I'll try to upload the timelapse + facelapse as soon as possible!

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

i think if you're making a puzzle game like this, you have to be careful that the hard part isn't the platforming. Like, I'll have the level "figured out", but it still takes me 5 minutes because I'll keep missing jumps.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

Great entry, quite fun and I loved the sound effects "bo, be, ba, beh". Always tried making little ditties at the level starts by switching colours. Personally I found the platforming too finicky on Neil Gagarin, couldn't make that jump to and from the single green for the life of me. But then again my platforming skills be weak.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

In some cases I wanted it to be easy to figure out, but difficult to pass. Sometimes the levels try to resonate with the narration.

But it's true that the difficulty curve is not nice. Some levels are complicated and may end up frustrating.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Very innovative game. I like it

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

This is neat!
Some animation on the main character would have been even better.
One other annoying thing is that you have no idea which position is free and which is not so you have to keep pressing the keys to check, some indicator may have been nice. But overall, good one!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Fun platformer with a nice puzzle mechanic. :) Some of the levels were a bit too much trial and error to my taste but I still enjoyed playing it. Loved the minimal audio :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Haha, hilarous sound effects! The concept is simple, but clever, and the story was nice too. Pretty relaxing game, I enjoyed it! :D

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Quite original :) The theme presence is quite obvious, and it's quite fun.

Just a bit frustrated about it having no sound and not having any kind of UI which shows the current colour number, since I kept pressing the button just to remember it!

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I like the idea, but too soon it becomes kinda hard to play because of lack of clues and necessity to repeat the same path again and again

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great game! I liked the color switching gameplay even if it got damn hard on some places like the moon one. I really enjoyed this game overall, nice work.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Oops! Sorry, it DID have sound. My mistake, I accidentally muted Chrome :(

Sadly, the sound makes the whole experience more depressing. But I guess that's in the mood, so kudos for that :D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Reminds me a lot of mighty flip champs except that you have more freedom to switch between any plane instead of having a set order. Also a nice story to go with it; I found myself narrating it in a poor english accent a la Thomas Was Alone. Cool puzzle game, though some of the levels with tiny platforms mid-shifting was really frustrating.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44am

The level design requires some major polishing. Sorry for the exceeding frustration :<

@dalbinblue I'm glad you narrated in a poor English accent! That's what would have happened if I would had made the voices for the text :-)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25am

Really good game. It actually reminds me of a game that won the last game jam I participated in.

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:16am

Loved it a lot! Would have loved it even more with different jump physics, but this is a really great concept and I didn't have much trouble moving around.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

Really hard, still wanna keep playing!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35am

I loved the mechanic, the level design was not perfect, but still it has potential. The music is quite repetitive.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45pm

All around a cool game, I liked it.

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Very concept. Much entertainment, wow.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Hi, I'm the guy who made a game similar to yours, Thanks for your comments ! :)
I actually really like your level design, especially the tutorials one, I think it's better than in my game. For example, the ones with positive/negative spaces are a great idea (tutorial 4 if I remember correctly). We should merge our games :D
I also like your peaceful and ambient music that goes well with the game.

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:00am

I love the music! Cool gameplay!

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:09am

1. Got to say, the thing that really sells the game to me, as basic as they are is the sound effects. They're hilarious!! Reminds me of the robot noises my Grandad used to make when I'd poke the different moles on his face.
2. I like the feeling on jumping and quickly hammering through the different options to find the right answer - a definite thrill to that, I found the sahara level the most enjoyable for that.
3. The level about going to different planets finished me off - ended up spamming the keys in frustration. Feel that the difficulty curve on that level was way too steep.
4. Nice story to it - there if you want it but not shoved in your face so you can immerse yourself in it or just focus on the puzzle.
5. Would love to see what the community could do with a level editor for this. If you've seen the game TimeFukc the level editor for that adds a whole new dimension to that game (I know I know, 48 hours).
6. The controls did feel a little sticky at times - there were points where I'd switch colour and the accompanying key I'd pressed to move in a certain direction would keep applying (e.g. would continue moving left past where I wanted to land. This on the levels later on which required absolute accuracy this had enough of an effect on gameplay to make me quit.
7. What would be nice for the less experienced player would be to for every time they fail, increase the saturation of the background for that level, so when people are really getting screwed over they can see what the next colour needed to be. I found it very difficult co-ordinating between the colour choice and the jumping simultaneously so maybe having this as a basic aid would still require the player to choose the right colour but with an idea of what's coming next. Then once you've completed the level you could set that saturation back to zero so no indication is given.

Hope this is some useful feedback and thanks for making a cool game for me to play!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20am

Very cool, so addictive, you think, "this'll be easy" , then minutes go by and you're still trying to get the position/timing right. Keep it up. :)

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:20am

Nice game. I didn't really find it hard until level 9 or so, when there was a large difficulty spike.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:48am

Great game, thanks for making the frame so big. interesting work with the audio! :)

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Really loved the textboxes which told some kind of "story" fitting to the level :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58pm

What an amazing game. Very creative.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice work. Good, interesting and innovative.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Clever level design. I enjoyed playing it. And the ending message is quite nice.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Genius! The idea is great! The sound is hilarious! The difficulty is too hard at times but anyway - perfect game!

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This is excellent!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:02am

Amazing game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It takes a little while to ramp up, but the last few stages are pretty interesting. Very nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]