December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Terminal Command

by CaptainKraft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one command

Build your command using as few path nodes as possible

The white code block will move to each node in order, so you don't have to click every tile between your location and your destination

Gather yellow code blocks and reach the red exit block to score as high as possible

The fewer instructions in your command and the more yellow code blocks collected, the higher your score

Use your command wisely

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#237Innovation3.30
#478Overall3.03
#637Fun2.67
#785Mood2.32
#795Theme2.34
#843Graphics2.17

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42pm

The concept is interesting, although you could improve it massively with some changes. For example, being able to "drag" paths rather than clicking on a single cell at a time. My finger hurts. :p

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Thanks for the feedback. There are lots of things I have planned for the game after voting is over. I'm going to keep track of all the advice I get and hopefully improve the game later. Thanks again

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Pretty rad! Fun concept :) You could also make that the player has limited path blocks to use, making room for extra puzzles.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Great idea!
Dragging paths would indeed be very useful.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

As soon as I realized that you don't have to click every single cell, it became a lot easier to play. I got a score of 602. Don't know if this is any good :) Personally I found the dark blue walls on the dark background hard to see.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Clever idea. I was disappointed when I reached the end as I was enjoying it.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

A bit hard to discern the dark-blue obstacles from the black background..

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice little puzzle! The blue blocks could be more distinct from the background. Now it is quite hard to see them.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Clever idea, I felt like the levels could have left more room for good and bad solutions however. Quite often the best route felt quite obvious.

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27pm

One of these games where I had to finally read the instructions after randomly clicking everything on the screen :)

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Could have used sounds when collecting the gold squares. Neat idea overall!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Was a bit confused at first until I realised the dark navy blocks were walls (as pointed out already). There's a really nice puzzle game in there though. Nicely done! :)

noethis says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:15am

Might've been missing something, but it didn't seem like there was really any problem solving the few levels I played. Just click from yellow node to yellow node--wasn't sure how to optimize my play any better. Also, score seemed buggy.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:09pm

verry nice game. nice circuit bord text, and the idea is interesting. Its a bit hard to see but that might be my screen. Puzzle wise i think you might have to add more mechanics to give playes a few choices but otherwise nicely made game.

binasa says ...
Jun 26, 2017 @ 9:49pm

Take with you on the go and play and learn quickly and effectively. http://getthingsplease.us Location: Choose the location you want or use the default current location (GPS).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]