December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Make it count!

by Kettlecorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill all the enemies on each level. Place your shots wisely, each gun only has one shot. Press 'P' to return to level select.

Controls: Xbox controller or keyboard

Joystick / WASD is move. B / Spacebar is shoot. P / Start is to return to menu.

Hook up a second controller and play the multiplayer level for multiplayer! (This game was initially designed around multiplayer!)

Second player keyboard controls are: Arrow Keys to move, enter to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#123Theme3.60
#256Fun3.24
#262Mood3.13
#268Overall3.29
#269Graphics3.39
#454Humor2.32
#475Innovation2.95
#602Audio2.29

Comments

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Good use of the theme

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Nice aesthetic! Bit too hard though, those guys are basically aimbots. Also guns don't drop every time?

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

@Cherno

Thanks for the feedback. The enemies are a bit tricky, although initially they literally were aimbots, it was terrifying.

Guns should drop everytime if they are carrying a gun, but sometimes enemies pick up guns. There also might be a bug, it's not unlikely.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

A bit hard, had to trick some of them to shoot their comrades. Very good use of shadows.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Really like this one. The spy vs. spy aesthetic is great, and the silhouettes are animated in a way that gives them a lot of character. The gameplay is also very fun, gives you a little bit of a ninja feeling hopping around and shanking these guys. I wish you could knife someone before you use your gun, though, so you can save the shot for a tougher opponent to reach. The green level is really hard!

One bug: the level after the green level, where an enemy spawns semi-randomly in the level after you kill each one gets stuck for me about halfway through, so I can't beat it.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

Great work incorporating the theme. Its quite gratifying to clear a level. Walk animations are awesome too.

Feels a little odd that the enemies can shoot at angles, while you cannot.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

This is really awesome. Great idea!

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20am

I saw a .gif of this one the front-page a while back, it's great to see the full game. The mechanic is good, it captures the theme and it is fun.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

I got stuck in some room half way and in between levels I wasn't quite sure what was going on. But...I enjoyed the gameplay and aesthetics. I think I enjoyed stabbing more than shooting anyways. ;)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25am

I don't really get the game, but I like it!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30am

I was able to press enter to reload the gun? Not sure if that is intended but it was very fun to play.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

@ParaPup

Enter to reload was not intended, and that's a silly glitch.

Enter is mapped to the second player's gun, and when you're on a single player level I just move the second player far away. The thing is, in multiplayer firing a bullet gives the other play a bullet, and it still works when you're in single player apparently.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

I love the menu - it feels really slick. I enjoyed the stealth mechanic of figuring out how to sneak up on the enemies. It would be nice to be able to use the knife before the gun too, to make it more of a choice than just having to shoot the first enemy each time.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53am

Like the arena battle style. Nice visuals, though a bit more of a cue on which one YOU are would go nicely. Great start, implement some ricochets and you're in business.

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Hey, you can get bullets with ENTER.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54am

Love the graphics, but animations / jumping could be a little bit better. Overall it's nice and solid entry.

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31am

azerty here :( I like the graphics and level selection tough!

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice mood, i realy like the shadow style. It's a bit hard to NOT spam the fire button, like in every other game ^^

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Yo, I liked it, there's potential in this game. If you wanna continue this game, you should first add some feedbacks/screenshake/effects to make the gameplay smoother and have a better feeling. Wunna see more :D

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Intresting idea, the gameplay is pretty good and the level selection too. But i didn't like the controls because i have an Azerty keyboard (gotta change the lang).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Brilliant! And I thought the difficulty was just right. Really beautiful game (in general, not visually - the characters are nice, but the rest could be a little more detailled/varied). Challenging and highly motivating gameplay. I basically ignored the guns most of the time and tried to backstab everybody. One of the very few games that get 5 fun stars from me. :)

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

the silhouettes are nice, but the gameplay doesn't seem there. Sounded like you had a good idea though

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Reminds me of TF2 Spy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3HEFiDFApI

There is this series on Youtube that can help you greatly with the 2d platformer on Unity. Hope this helps.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Controls feel pretty good and I like the fast pace of movement and firing. It would be nice if I could move on to the next level instead of moving out to the main menu. Nice work.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice concept, great entry ! We were 2 playing it and it's quite fun. We had troubles to know which character is our and there is too much spawn kill possible with the multiplayer map. But we had a lot of fun anyway ! Nice job.
The concept actually looks like ours, but the result is really different.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:47am

Fun play style and satisfying kill physics. I did get stuck on a 2 player level at the end. I kill him 5 times and then that was it. Great work!

grozamorei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:55pm

AI is easy to trick since they stop paying attention to you if you leave they horizontal 'sight' though, but it's okay.

but just jumping around stubbing everyone is great. good job.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice! Mechanically, it's so much more interesting than the other "one bullet" games made for this competition because the enemies only have one shot as well. I really appreciate that.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:16pm

On the menu screen, I first tried to click on the arrow ... Then I read your comment :p

Very cool graphics, the game is really cool. It would be really cool too if we can switch to a knife instead of loosing our gun each time

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Enter key saves my day :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]